We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Orchard Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Orchard Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   466 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
South Windsor, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We came to this hotel after a terrible experience at another hotel. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful. We had a junior suite which was very spacious. Housekeeping staff is great. The room was nice and clean everyday. The location is close to cable cars and buses which made it easy to get around. Very nice hotel and friendly, helpful staff. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
I try to see the positive in situations and think some things happen for a reason. Although I am sad to hear your vacation started off rocky at least it led you to us. It sounds like your vacation ended as a memorable one and I am thrilled our team was here to help make that happen. San Francisco is an amazing city with so much to see and do, a good central home base is a necessity. I am very happy you had a good vacation and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    366
    76
    21
    13
See reviews for
235
488
90
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is my go-to hotel when in SFO on business or pleasure. The location is superb, just a few blocks from Union Square and a few steps from the main gate to Chinatown. And the quality comes with a rate that, for this city, is very reasonable. Staff is extremely courteous. Don't forget to leave a room key in the slot by the door if you want the temp your way - this is a very green hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for writing such a kind review. We are thrilled to be your preferred San Francisco Hotel and we value your loyalty. Hospitality is such a fascinating industry because we get to meet so many people from so many places. It is a pleasure seeing a familiar face and building a rapport with returning guests. All of us here look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is situated between Powell street and Bush street San Francisco CA.
The famous cable car passes and stops just by the hotel, apart from this the hotel staff are excellent, very helpful, clean rooms and just a few blocks from Union Square, China town and other emnities.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for the very good review; we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to read the property was to your liking and staff was up to par. It sounds like you took advantage of the location and got to do a lot of sightseeing. We hope to see you again on your next trip out to San Francisco.

Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum Grove, TX
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A great place to stay in the City. First, location...within walking distance (6 blocks or so at most) of Union Square, two cable car lines, Chinatown, North Beach, and the Ferry Building. Safe and quiet neighborhood with many good restaurants. Second, the rooms...immaculate and tidy with wood and recycled furnishings. Good sized and comfortable. Third, the staff...always a friendly greeting and willing to do anything to make your stay enjoyable. This hotel will be our headquarters in San Francisco from now on.

Room Tip: We stay on the 10th floor in the back. No views but very quiet. Get the Junior Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the amazing review, all of us here are ecstatic to read this is your new San Francisco headquarters. I could not agree more regarding the location. There is so much to do and see within walking distance. The Ferry Building is one of my favorite areas to stroll around, good food and water front views.

I feel very fortunate to work with such an enthusiastic team; we really do enjoy the opportunity to enhance our guest’s vacation. The housekeepers work so hard and thorough to ensure rooms are spic-n-span. The front desk staff and the concierges truly enjoy sharing their knowledge of the city. We all look forward to your next visit.

All the best,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a great boutique hotel, just outside the entrance to ChinaTown. Just can't beat the location, which is walking distance to everything. Really nice rooms and service. No realy separate bar area, and I didn't eat there. But, you can walk everywhere from here, so no matter. Recommend the rooms and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review. I am so pleased to read that you stay was a good one. I could not agree more about the location. Many points of interest are an easy walk from the hotel. The others are a simple bus or cable car ride away. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience and recommending our hotel.

Cheers
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I've stayed here countless times since my office is across the street. The location is great, near a lot of necessities and great restaurants. The staff is extremely friendly and always helpful. I've stayed in lots of different kinds of rooms, and different sizes as well. Even in the smallest, they are always clean and you can always be sure you're going to get the same service. I like reliability in a hotel and this one has it. Their gym is pretty much a treadmill (an old one) in a repurposed hotel room. I wouldn't recommend it and say just buy a one-day pass to 24 hour fitness a few blocks away which can be purchased at the front desk. It's very quiet and overall a great value for the money. The restaurant is also good for breakfast and dinner. Instead of waiting a long time for room service (they really just use the waitstaff to do room service) I just make an order and get it "to go" and take it to my room. Much quicker that way!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank so you much for the very kind review, we truly appreciate your loyalty and patronage. I am pleased to read that you have received the same quality service during each visit. As you know our Housekeeping team works diligently ensuring tidy rooms. I feel very fortunate to work with a team so passionate about hospitality. I am also delighted to hear you enjoy the restaurant cuisine. I am not sure if you had the opportunity to try the new prix fixe menu option yet, the curry is delectable.

Again, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us when your return to San Francisco. Perhaps one of your future visits could be for pleasure instead work.

Regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The ambience, decor of the entry. The amazing friendliness of the staff. The "green" approach to the entire building, that is real not just a slogan. The bed, room, bath - comfortable and easy to use. All these were much more than we had expected. We felt right at home immediately.

Green Features: Upon entering the room, all services are off: electricity, AC, etc. Once you put your card-key into the slot by the door, all services are activated. Makes it easy to leave the room too, not having to worry about turning out lights. Just pull your key out of the slot and everything goes off.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
I am so pleased to read your expectations were exceeded and you have found your home away from home. That is one of the nicest compliments we could receive. Thank you for commending us on our eco-conscious endeavors. One of the best parts about working for a LEED certified building is we are always thinking of ways to be even “greener”. I am also delighted to hear about your amazing interactions with the staff. All of us here truly enjoy conversations with the guests and sharing our knowledge of the city. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Address: 466 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 2006, The Orchard Garden Hotel is one of California's first and foremost eco-friendly hotels. Mixing state-of-the-art amenities with a dedication to protecting the environment, we invite you relax in utmost comfort with us! Built to the national standards of green building developed by the U.S. Green Building Council, The Orchard Garden Hotel is LEED certified, Green Seal Certified, and has earned Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award and gold level for Green Leaders. In addition striving for a 100% non-smoking environment, the hotel is also California's debut of a guest room key card energy control system, which reduces an overall of 20% energy consumption. The Huang Family is committed to maintaining an environmentally friendly and non-toxic environment, as well as a chic and convenient experience. Nestled in the heart of San Francisco, The Orchard Garden Hotel is located near the Financial District, Union Square shops, and many museums and attractions. Whether you are at our Roots restaurant eating locally sourced foods or relaxing on our rooftop garden, you will be at ease with us. We invite you to experience a "Tradition of Excellence" at the Orchard Garden Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.