We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Orchard Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Orchard Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   466 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book a Free Breakfast PKG
Ranked #18 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Turku, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel because of it's good location, it's green hotel and offers organic breakfast. The location was excellent as expected, room and bathroom were very nice and spacious and also very clean. Breakfast was good and large, loved the coffee. The staff was very kind and helpful and they arranged us a house car to get us to the airport, which was very nice.

Lots of restaurants nearby and easy walk to major attractions and to do some shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the stellar review. I am thrilled to read the location met your expectations. It is an amazing part of the city to be in for sightseeing. Since breakfast is the most important meal of the day, ordering from the new breakfast menu is a great way to start before taking on San Francisco. I also appreciate you noticing our “green efforts” and recognizing our team. I feel very fortunate to work with such a great team, all focused on protecting the environment while providing excellent service for our guests. Come see us again soon.

Sincerely
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    349
    68
    21
    12
See reviews for
223
464
86
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is our second visit to the Orchard Garden Hotel. The staff were pleasant and considerate. The room was large and smartly decorated. The room was quiet and had a comfortable comfortable bed. The included breakfast was well prepared and served with care. The location is ideal for the Union Square/Chinatown area and a short cable car ride to Fisherman's Wharf. Parking is expensive at $40/night but standard in that area of town. The connection to the Bay Bridge and the Oakland Airport was uncomplicated. We will stay there again when we travel to SF.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the outstanding review. We are so happy to be your home away from home and appreciate your loyalty. I am glad to read that the location is ideal for you guys and that you enjoyed our new breakfast menu. We look forward to see you both again soon.

Kind regards,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in April, 2013. One couple with another couple, each with their own room. We were there for a fun vacation. The location was excellent, walking distance to many attractions, public transit, etc. Our rooms were a bit on the small side, with no decent chairs for sitting in. To get together with our friends for a drink in our room, we had to carry a chair from one room to the other, and we two gals sat on the bed. However, the rooms were nice, quiet, comfortable. We had breakfast only once, it was fine. The staff were friendly and very helpful. I would recommend it to others going to San Francisco on vacation.

Room Tip: Our room had no view at all, faced the back of something, but was very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: This was a nice touch. Recycling bins in the room. It was a factor for us when choosing this hotel.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
All of us here at the Orchard Garden Hotel are thrilled you and your friends decided to stay with us for your fun filled vacation. Although I am pleased you found the room comfortable, I am sorry you felt crammed in the room during your get together. I would have suggested enjoying a beverage on the rooftop terrace.

I could not agree more about the location. There really is no need for a car, since most sights are in walking distance and the others just any easy bus ride away.

Thank you for the kind review and spreading word about our Hotel, we truly appreciate it.

Regards,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmount, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I just returned from a 7 day business stay at the Orchard Garden Hotel right next to the gateway to Chinatown and very near Union Square in San Francisco. Having been to SF many times I know that the main problem with hotels in and around Union Square is noise. This one was absolutely silent at night, with very high quality bedding for light sleepers like myself. The Hotel is within 2-10 minutes walking distance of many of the city's finest restaurants, the American Conservatory Theatre and major retail shopping. The hotel staff are professional, prompt and accommodating. The hotel restaurant tends to be deserted especially after 8 PM. I found the breakfasts to be standard fare (with a few healthy options) at standard hotel rates. I rarely saw couples eating there at night time perhaps because of the plethora of good restaurants nearby such as E & O Asian Kitchen (awesome Asian crossover cuisine) and Colibiri (elegant Mexican tapas). The fitness club consists of 3 treadmills in a closet with no windows. You can buy passes at the hotel to the nearby 24 Hour Fitness Club for $15 per visit.
In summary, a great hotel for light sleepers who need to be near Union Square. It is a bit pricey considering that there is no health club to mention but I am readily willing to pay more to get a quiet room and a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors. If you have adjoining rooms with noisy and inconsiderate neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. Whether a guest is here for business or sightseeing, a quality night of rest is very important. I am so happy you were able to find that here. The double panned windows and well insulated walls do a very good job of sound proofing the rooms and I must agree the bedding is very comfortable.

Although the food at Roots is very good, the Salmon in the young green ginger onion sauce (delicious), getting out an experiencing local cuisine is a must. I am thrilled you were able to take advantage of some of the amazing restaurants nearby. The two you mentioned are actually some of my favorites too.

All of us here appreciate your feedback and we look forward to any and all of your future visits.

Thanks again,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in April for several nights. Overall very nice large room, nice bed. Enjoyed my stay there, though there were several minor things I would change.
Staff was helpful with ordering me a taxi to the airport, and nice overall.
Convenient location - easy to get to BART and walking distance from some major attractions. But the hotel is in the downtown, so no real feel of San-Francisco until you get to some other areas around...
Minor minuses:
Street noise, even though had a window facing backyard...
Breakfast quite expensive, though very small (so better just to have it somewhere outside)
No stairs, only elevator, which makes you wait for quite some time, whereas I would prefer just to walk up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review, we are truly grateful for your feedback. We are glad you found the location easily accessible and enjoyed the room. I am sorry you experienced some street noise. It can be very challenging to escape the sounds of downtown traffic.

Most people greet the elevator with a smile after walking the hills of San Francisco, so kudos to you for wanting to take the stairs. We actually have two stair cases, mostly there incase of an emergency, however guests are more than welcome to use them at their leisure.

All of us here hope you visit us again soon.
Regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Picked the Orchard Garden strictly on the strength of the reviews on TripAdviser. Was NOT steered wrong. Spent 4 nights with wife and 2 kids. Stayed in Room 1002. Perfect! Nice clean room with very little street noise. You could stay at the front of the hotel and likely have more noise. If you prefer the quiet, give up the view and stay in the back.

Only hiccup was 4 people in the room and they repeatedly only gave us 3 bath towels. This could be part of their 'green' initiative??? Called front desk and had extra towels delivered within 5 minutes all four nights. Very prompt service.

Front desk very helpful in pointing out nearby needs. Bottled water at a market a block away. Breakfast at a diner three blocks away. Cab at the door in less than a minute. No complaints at all with the service. In short, no complaints. This is a hidden gem of a hotel that's a 3 minute walk from Union Square.

No question, would definitely stay here again. HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience, we truly enjoy your positive feedback. Oddly, one of my favorite things to read in a review is “hidden gem.”

We are happy the room was to your liking and accommodated your family comfortably. The well insulated walls and double paned windows not only help keep the warmth in (to prevent the usage of the heater, Green Initiative) but keep the rooms very quiet as well.

Although it seems the lack of towels were resolved quickly, I am sincerely sorry for the inconvenience. After reading your review, we have come up with a simple remedy to the hassle of calling down daily.

Again, thank you very much for the review and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is right outside of the Chinatown Gate and is very convenient to Union Square, Chinatown and Nob Hill. It is a modern type of hotel, and very inviting. The staff were all wonderful and accommodating. There is a small gym and great rooftop deck with chairs and tables and nice views. We had a room with two beds and there was plenty of space in the room and the bathroom was very large compared to other hotels we have stayed at. All in all a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. I am happy to see that you found the property and location to your liking, as well as the staff. I feel very fortunate to alongside such an enthusiastic team. I hope you were able to enjoy the rooftop terrace during this abnormally hot weather we are having. All of us here hope you come visit us again soon.

Best,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Address: 466 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 2006, The Orchard Garden Hotel is one of California's first and foremost eco-friendly hotels. Mixing state-of-the-art amenities with a dedication to protecting the environment, we invite you relax in utmost comfort with us! Built to the national standards of green building developed by the U.S. Green Building Council, The Orchard Garden Hotel is LEED certified, Green Seal Certified, and has earned Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award and gold level for Green Leaders. In addition striving for a 100% non-smoking environment, the hotel is also California's debut of a guest room key card energy control system, which reduces an overall of 20% energy consumption. The Huang Family is committed to maintaining an environmentally friendly and non-toxic environment, as well as a chic and convenient experience. Nestled in the heart of San Francisco, The Orchard Garden Hotel is located near the Financial District, Union Square shops, and many museums and attractions. Whether you are at our Roots restaurant eating locally sourced foods or relaxing on our rooftop garden, you will be at ease with us. We invite you to experience a "Tradition of Excellence" at the Orchard Garden Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.