We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Union Square's Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Orchard Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orchard Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   466 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book a Free Breakfast PKG
Ranked #19 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Union Square's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

At just one or two blocks off union square, and at about 60% of the price of hotels with similar levels of quality/service/location - there is SO much to love about Orchard Garden.

First - LOCATION - You are right in the middle of everything. Very walkable to just about everything. As stated, Union Square shops like Williams Sonoma and Macys are right there (as are many great restaurants. Chinatown is on the end of the same block. Cable Car line to Fisherman's wharf - 2 blocks. The piers - 4 blocks. BART (to airport and beyond) 2 blocks.

Second - ROOMS/SERVICE - When we booked, the front desk asked if we'd like a towncar from the airport (since it costs the same as a cab b/c the hotel has an arrangement with a service). Of course, we said yes. Our room was a queen-size with ample space - bathroom is very private set off from the main sleeping area. It's also quite large for a standard room. As you'd expect from SF it's very eco friendly, your room key slides into a panel by the door and it controls A/C and lights by automatically turning them off/on when you leave/return. Big comfy down (or down alternative) comforter on a great bed. Quiet atmosphere - not a peep from the hallways or neighboring rooms.

Third - EXTRAS - The restaurant downstairs is delicious. Not San Fran's absolute best, but far better than most hotel restaurants. The rooftop terrace is also very cool - very neat views of the financial district and a great place for chit chat and such. This is the sister hotel of "The Orchard" just down the street - which allows you to also enjoy any of the amenities at that hotel as well. You just need to bring your room key or ask the front desk to call ahead for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review and sharing our Union Square secret. All of us are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Hotel as well as San Francisco. It appears you were able to see most of the city, enjoying some sights and tasting some delightful foods. I’m glad you got a kick out of some of our eco-friendly features such as they key card system, which is an energy saving strategy that cuts energy use by 30%. Hopefully you come to stay with us again soon.

Happy Holidays
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    344
    66
    21
    12
See reviews for
222
452
85
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I really like this hotel when traveling solo for work. Quiet, clean, simple. Go to Cafe Presse, French restaurant across the street...great for a frisee salad with lardons and eggs, onion soup with gruyere, and a glass of sancerre, and watch the world go by. Annoyed that more people have discovered it which has driven the prices up higher than they should be. Location is perfection for exploring downtown/Union Square area without being in the nitty gritty of it.Three-star hotel, but very nice. Regular rooms too small for more than two.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
All of us at the Orchard Garden Hotel are happy you enjoyed your stay. I too enjoy Café De La Presse for some people watching and their Croque Madame, mmm. Next time you come back you should check out our rooftop terrace, you’re more than welcome to take a glass of Sancerre up with you. You be surprised how peaceful it is.

Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A small well located hotel, a few steps down from the gateway to Chinatown. Perfectly located for walking in all directions. Street is quiet for it's location, lots of coffee, good bakery, restaurants nearby. Easy access to airport transport, buses. Hotel has a small lobby, friendly staff, clean modern rooms. Overall a great value. The restaurant feels like an add on with few customers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience with others. I agree it is surprisingly quiet considering the downtown / Union Square location. Despite some the nearby hills the location is extraordinary for walking around and taking in the sights. All of us at the Orchard Garden Hotel hope you come visit us again soon.

Take care
Quinn Mcentee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Title says it all... I had a fantastic stay in SF for 5 days with my wife and two young daughters. The hotel was wonderful... awesome location sandwiched between the Financial District, Chinatown, and SOMA. Great restaurants and shopping nearby (Sanraku for sushi... yum). Safe neighborhood. Very convenient to subway, bus stops, etc.

Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet, with a nice roomy bathroom. We had a great view of the neighborhood from the sixth floor.

Be sure to visit the rooftop garden... unfortunately we didn't discover it until our last day, else we'd have spent a lot more time there! Great place to unwind after a day being a tourist.

In a nutshell, it was worthy every penny... thanks to the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expat in Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I loved everything about this hotel and our junior suite. A clean, safe beauty with the perfect San Francisco location. Fantastic staff. Comfortable beds, quiet and a spacious, well-lit bathroom. A small and wonderful place to stay. I didn't want to leave and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We were in Junior Suite 606. No view but extremely quiet and a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The rates at this hotel are much more than I would usually consider paying, but having said that - I appreciated the benefits that it afforded. Lovely comfortable room (no view for me), access to the roof patio, fantastic location for someone on their own - felt very safe, even late at night, and very friendly and helpful staff. I'm glad I paid more!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The orchard hotel is a newer, clean hotel 1/2 block from the china town entry gate so in a great location to walk to union square, fisherman's wharf and other locales. The front desk was extremely helpful as was the doorman who pointed us in the right direction many times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Address: 466 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.