We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely smallish hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Orchard Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Orchard Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   466 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book a Free Breakfast PKG
Ranked #18 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“lovely smallish hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

this is a small hotel (family run according to the front desk). the front desk staff were lovely the concierge always seemed to be on duty and was beyond friendly and helpful - really great guy.
the rooms are modern, lovely comfy beds. we stayed as a family of 4 with 2 small children (ages 5 and 6). if you were to stay here more than say 3 or 4 days with 4 people the rooms are pretty small. probably the smallest in our whole U.S stay. as a couple it would be fine.

it is situated on bush street right on the corner of where china town starts. really convenient place to stay. walking distance to market street for shopping and transport and also china town and union square.

we also stayed at the Westin St Francis - i looooved this hotel. but you need to find a deal as otherwise it is quite expensive for you stay for a week - see my other review

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    350
    69
    21
    12
See reviews for
224
464
87
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

A very comfortable hotel in San Francisco downtown. The staff, specially "Blue", is extremely helpful and nice! We got a superior room, which was very bright and with a very nice view. Although it is in a busy area, close to the beautiful China Town, we colud sleep very well thanks to the soundproof windows and comfortable bed! Don't expect low rates during busy times! But don't worry if breakfast is not included in the rate. There are plenty of nice coffee shops nearby, such as one of the chain La Boulange Bakery in Market Street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Everything I needed for my 5 day business trip. Excellent location 5 mins walk from the BART train, near the Financial District, good restaurants, shopping, nightlife. Convenience stores just a few blocks up the hill on the same street. Excellent large rooms (I asked for a quiet room as I have difficulty sleeping and was glad I did as the Giants World Series victory celebrations were quite noisy outside late into the night, but I heard nothing in my room!). Apparently some of the street-facing rooms (which no doubt have a better view) could be noisier. Excellent bathroom facilities (and an actual bath!), excellent free wifi. Didn't try breakfast or any food - the restaurant always seemed empty, especially in the evening - as unless you want a full breakfast, there are plenty of coffee shops right across the street which are a lot cheaper (and do better coffee) if you just want something small. Excellent friendly staff. Not cheap but I'd stay here again on business every time.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing inwards if you are bothered by street noise (though most of the time, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel has become a regular for me because it achieves unusual quality for a fair price and central location. Add to that, excellent customer service and you can see why Orchard Garden strikes such a desirable balance in a big, wonderful, but expensive city. Staff like Justine and others routinely go the extra distance to be helpful. Nearby are many great restaurants. Rooms feature clean, bright, yet tasteful decor, and beds are the best. Overall a great choice for business or pleasure.

While I use five stars for absolute, top-of-the-line properties (W, Four Seasons, etc), most of us can't, or don't even want to travel that way all the time. If you're looking for a high quality experience at a decent price, you'll be very happy here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Recently stayed here and found the location excellent -- the gate to Chinatown is half a block away, just blocks to fabulous Italian food. Rooms clean, quiet and sunny (with light coming in on two sides). The rooms were a bit on the small side, but not cramped. Breakfast was reasonably priced and tasty. Bathrooms a good size. The Lobby is charming but small -- not a place to hang out. What stood out was the excellent customer service, friendly and helpful. A fire alarm went off in the middle of the night -- something that is unlikely to recur with another visit. I admired how the staff handled the problem, with empathy and a dedication to making things right. I will make this my place to stay whenever I'm in San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Eco-friendly, small hotel near Bush and Kearny in San Francisco. It's in a great neighborhood with lots of restaurants and pubs nearby. My room was comfortable and quiet with free wifi. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I'll be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Tastefully designed in a contemporary style, this is a lovely, comfortable hotel. My room was a good size with an equally good-sized bathroom. The room had windows on two sides which made it bright and sunny - although as it was at the front of the hotel, there was occasional noise from the street below.
The hotel is within easy (and safe) walking distance of upmarket shopping, plenty of restaurants and bars, Chinatown and the Financial District. It's also close to public transport for access to other parts of the city.
If I had a criticism it was that the gym was tiny: three people would have filled it. So as a long-term business stay it wouldn't work for me. Also, the restaurant and room service weren't available on the one night I needed to stay in my room and do some work. Although a delivery service was available, I would have appreciated some communication about the lack of room service before I'd settled into my room as I really wanted to eat something healthy, not a takeaway pizza or similar and didn't want to have to interrupt my work to go and find something to eat.
Apart from that, I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Address: 466 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 2006, The Orchard Garden Hotel is one of California's first and foremost eco-friendly hotels. Mixing state-of-the-art amenities with a dedication to protecting the environment, we invite you relax in utmost comfort with us! Built to the national standards of green building developed by the U.S. Green Building Council, The Orchard Garden Hotel is LEED certified, Green Seal Certified, and has earned Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award and gold level for Green Leaders. In addition striving for a 100% non-smoking environment, the hotel is also California's debut of a guest room key card energy control system, which reduces an overall of 20% energy consumption. The Huang Family is committed to maintaining an environmentally friendly and non-toxic environment, as well as a chic and convenient experience. Nestled in the heart of San Francisco, The Orchard Garden Hotel is located near the Financial District, Union Square shops, and many museums and attractions. Whether you are at our Roots restaurant eating locally sourced foods or relaxing on our rooftop garden, you will be at ease with us. We invite you to experience a "Tradition of Excellence" at the Orchard Garden Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Amex, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.