We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Was Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colibri Mexican Bistro

Colibri Mexican Bistro
438 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223
415-440-2737
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Colibri Mexican Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #280 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mason & Taylor
Transit: #38 Geary Bus
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Food Was Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I dined here twice on my stay in San Francisco. The first night the food was delicious and the service from the bartender was great. Enough that I returned the next evening to get some more fish tacos! The food was equally as good the next night, however, the bar service was terrible. I had to ask to be seated at a table just to get a menu. Still loved the food - just inconsistent service.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    181
    57
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authenic Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is not your typico CalMex or TexMex restaurant. The food is made from scratch and is Mexico City Mexican Food. If you would like to try authenic Mexican Food, this is the place to be.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A lovely and tasty surprise in San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We asked the concierge for a Mexican restaurant close to our hotel near Union Square and were pleased with the suggestion. We had not booked but a nice table for the 3 of us was found and the service was prompt. The food was delicious:Lamb rack with a raspberry mole, chicken mole and chicken breast with spinach and corn. We also had cactus leaves which we had not tried previously. My daughter's favourite however were the churros we had for dessert. They were tasty withou being overly sweet. The tequila flan was delicious as well. Reasonable prices for what we got.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

One of the best meals I've had in a long time. We started with a pitcher of sangria and spicy guacamole. Both fantastic. Chicken tinga and filet mignon stuffed with goat cheese and ancho chile. Wow. Service was fantastic all the way around. So glad we discovered this place!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Elegant Mexican restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Four of us went for dinner at Colibri last night--a sophisticated little bistro close to the Hilton Union Square. We were given a booth in the back of the restaurant. Pleasant California/Mexican music in the background. We started off with the spicy guacamole--the best I've ever tasted. I had the seared duck breast and it was delicious. The service was very good, and prices reasonable (for SF). Loved this place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colibri Mexican Bistro also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Colibri Mexican Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colibri Mexican Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.