We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked Colibri” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colibri Mexican Bistro

Colibri Mexican Bistro
438 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223 (Union Square)
415-440-2737
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Colibri Mexican Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #209 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Union Square
Cross street: Mason & Taylor
Transit: #38 Geary Bus
Hudson, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We liked Colibri”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Colibri is a really, really good restaurant. Full of locals having a good time, and we had good food here. Rack of lamb and lamb shanks for us that night! The place was a little hard to relax in though as it was hard to figure out who was running the place, who was our server, food runner and manager...not that any of that usually matters, but for some reason at Colibri, it all felt a little chaotic or rushed. Go here though, and enjoy really good food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    198
    60
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great experience again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I dined at Colibri last time I was in San Francisco so I was very eager to go back again when I returned. I made a booking a few weeks in advance to ensure we got a good table. I had raved about this restaurant to mother so I was very keen to bring her here. It did not disappoint. From the cocktails to the entrees to the desserts, everything tasted fantastic. We especially loved the lamb shank. It was divine. We don't get Mexican food like this in Australia. I can't wait to come back again when I am next in San Francisco.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, disappointing service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Dinner was very good (especially loved the guacamole) and service was friendly and engaging. The only downside was that food came out VERY slowly -- not sure if that was just because it was after 8 pm on a Saturday night, or if that's usual. Our server was nice, but I was frustrated to wait so long for each part of the meal (long wait after ordering drinks and before ordering entrees, long wait for dessert and coffee to arrive).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Colibri has the best tortillas ever. The food was really good, but the tortillas... Great margaritas with many choices of tequila. I hate going to a mexican restaurant and getting tex mex. Colibri is the real deal. I highly recommend!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican--Not Texican-- Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have seen this comment on other reviews, and this is a definite step up from what most tytpical mexican places offer. Good range of choices on the Menu; I had Cochinita Pibil and the Fish Ceviche. Ceviche was a little pricey, but you got a big bowl and it was perfectly made and very classic in the approach. The Pibil, an old standby, was well-made and attractively served. The margarita was very good and not from a premade bottle. I would definitely go back. The old movies are a little strange, and the background music wasn't necessarily Latin, but the vibe was good nonetheless.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colibri Mexican Bistro also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Colibri Mexican Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colibri Mexican Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.