We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belden Taverna

Belden Taverna
52 Belden Pl, San Francisco, CA 94104-2802 (Downtown)
415-986-8887
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Belden Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #641 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Kearny & Pine
Transit: Montgomery BART/MUNI station. Centrally located in the Financial District, 5 minutes walking distance from Moscone Conference Center, and 7 minutes walking distance from Union Square Area.
San Diego
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cool find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Found this neat gem crowed in a small alley way called Belden Place. The alley is lined with several Italian themed restaurants. It is fun to walk down the Alley and watch the hostesses try to get you to come to their spot. I was meeting a group for a reception and glad they picked this spot. The reception was upstairs and it was a nice large area that is used for dinning and special events with a small bar, one note about the upstairs area, the stairs are kind of steep. After the short reception a couple of us decided to stay and eat downstairs, where they have both inside and outside dinning , since e the night was cool but not cold we sat outside in their covered patio.
We managed to get them to allow us to order the Dollar oysters on the happy hour menu even though happy hour had just passed. Which we followed up with dinner, I had the short ribs which was very tender, a couple of others had the Mac and Cheese (which I think comes with kinds of Mac and Cheese) and one had the Crab Linguini everyone said they enjoyed their meals. Our server was attentive but not intrusive and we had a good time sitting outside and watching the people walk up and down the alley trying to make their dinning decision. They have a good wine selection.
The vibe is cool and makes you feel like you are an in insider, since many have walked by Belden Alley and did not notice. I will be back and look forward to not only eating here again but trying some of the other places in the alley as well.
FYI – Belden Place is only a couple of blocks east of Union Square and the surrounding hotels so enjoy the stroll over to find the alley and the dining.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great pasta & wine in Belden Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is one of several restaurants crammed into a little alley (Belden Place) at the foot of the BofA tower. It is billed as an "Italian steakhouse", but we opted for more Italian than steakhouse, having shared appetizers and individual pastas. The arancini (fried risotto balls) appetizers were surprisingly light, while the pastas were fresh and flavorful. The wine list was extensive (and a bit expensive), with some off-the-beaten-path options. We were seated in the outside portion on the alley, so it was tight quarters with our fellow diners and perhaps a bit noisy, but we thought it just added to to atmosphere. Service was excellent, a good balance between attentive and intrusive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

On a visit to San Francisco, we were wandering around the city looking for a place for dinner when we happened upon Belden Taverna. They set us up in the patio near a heating lamp which was perfect for the slightly chilly evening. Our server was quick and friendly, and had the foresight to let us know that the Peroni keg had just been changed therefore the beer wouldn't be very cold (so we ended up ordering a local brew instead). The food arrived in a very reasonable timeframe. My beef spare ribs were fall-off-the bone tender and accompanied by delectable mashed potatoes, asparagus and a great sauce! Halfway through the dish I was already full but couldn't stop eating! My husband's steak was cooked nicely. The owner stopped by to chat and ensure that the food was to our liking. Unfortunately, we were too stuffed for dessert but will definitely be returning for another meal the next time we are in the city.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor space...good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Took a group of colleagues out to lunch. Largish group, but got seated right away. Menu was varied. Liked the chicken sandwich I had. Evidently the lobster roll is not up to the NewEnglander in our groups standards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice in the financial district.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Very nice, very pleasant. The food was excellent! The evening was quite cool so we appreciated the outdoor heaters. The seafood bouillabaisse was outstanding as were the braised short ribs. The staff was attentive and helpful. The wine list was well adapted to the menu. As with most places in California, the seating is too close, but hey, I still made the trip!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belden Taverna also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Belden Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belden Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.