We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dirtiest place in the Castro” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Peaks Hotel

Twin Peaks Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Twin Peaks Hotel to your Saves list
Twin Peaks Hotel
2160 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94114   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
PHX
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The dirtiest place in the Castro”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

I had stayed at the hotel for 3 days trying to find a place to live. Not only were the people rude, but the place was dirt and filthy. I found a used condom under the bed from the last guest . I also realized I couldn't walk passed certain rooms without some guy wanking on his penis or gesturing for me to come in .

This hotel is very low budget , the TV are old , no cable it is a second hand place. I would even watch the beds since you can just smell that they have not updated this place since 1970 when they bought it .

The man and women are rude and unprofessional in every way . They have no idea how to run a business and have no interest in keeping their place up to date. They take advantage of people who can't find a place to stay during gay pride by increasing the rates.

In truth they shouldn't be allowed to run such a dirty place !

Would I recommend this it's not just no .. "ITS HELL NO "

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
7
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

I've stayed at the hotel a couple of times and will not stay there again. While the hotel is decent for the cost, the on-site management are down right mean people with no concept of guests being a customer. They treat you like you're a problem for them.

Second time I stayed was for two weeks and even thought you pay by the week thus checking out and in again, I was provided no room service in between the weeks payed. Unlike a guest that would have checked in after me and been provided a clean room.

Last time I stayed I checked out late, around 4 pm and was told that I could not have my $10 key deposit back because I owed them for another night, even though I was not allowed to stay another night nor did stay another night.

I WILL NOT EVER STAY at this hotel again as long as the on-site family continues to manage the property. They are absolutely awful especially the women.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuolumne, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

When I first began to write this review, all I could think of were the cons. Then I had to think about it for a moment... My friends and I have never been the sort to plan and plot a trip to anywhere. Its after dark when we get to San Francisco, but we spend the whole time walking around Castro, whoopin' it up Around 2:00 or 3:00 AM, our relentless party energy was failing us and we needed to find a place to stay. "no reservation no reservation no reservation." Until we finally reached the Twin Peaks hotel. We opened the door to the smallest lobby on Earth (not that im spending hours in the lobby doing nothing or anything, so I could care less) and asked the manager if there were any rooms open. He seemed rather agitated, and with the time we had him awake, I'm not surprised and I don't blame him for being a bit grouchy. Other than this, he was very friendly. We got to room 101 and opened the door to an EVEN SMALLER guest room with one bed for three people. (There floor was moderately comfortable by the way=P) There was a small sink in the room, a television and a closet. I think the maid was on vacation, but what can you do? All and all, a room for three miserable, tired college kids to sleep in for four hours at an astounding forty dollars is all we could ask of the Twin Peaks, and that's all we got. If your a couple of stupid kids out on the town, over two hundred miles away from home with nowhere to stay at 3 O'clock in the morning, Twin peaks looks like the Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

I was looking for a cheap central place to spend a week. At a weekly rate of around $ 250 this market street location was a good choice. On the same side of market street with recommended restaurants "home" and "zuni" it is close to also zagat-approved burger-joint "burgermeister" (meaning mayor in german) and a 24hour giant safeway. Do not be fooled by the carpet on first floor - it is rather awful but the worst part of this place. My room on 1st floor all the way in the back (room 21?) was clean, quiet and recently touched over with paint. As are bathrooms and showers - clean and recently painted. TV was there and working okay if not brilliant, and there is supposed to be free wifi internet access - though not working at the time. But there is free access at the safeway - around the clock!
So go there and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

I made a reservation for a client on April 29th for a 1-week stay starting April 30th. The female who answered the phone assured me there were rooms available, quoted the rate and took my credit card info. When I arrived with my client to check-in, the same woman (I’m certain) took one look at him and said they never took a reservation and were full. My client is mildly intellectual challenged and has a speech impediment that makes it difficult to understand him, but is clean, sober, friendly and completely able to care for himself. The woman, who identified herself as the owner, said that maybe some unknown person answered their phone and took the reservation and my credit card info, and it was my fault for not asking for a confirmation number. It was obvious to me that she made a quick negative judgment based on my client’s presentation. I plan to file a discrimination suit against the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We decided to stay here because of the great weekly rate. Service was great and loved the location--we ate at a creperie super close by every morning. Don't go there for the ambience, but there's plenty of that at the many places to visit and see in the heart of the Castro! The communal bathrooms were very clean and right across the hall from our room. After sightseeing all day, we fell asleep as soon as our heads hit the pillow~~so why spend a ton on the various amenities usually found at hotels?

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

Myself and a friend stayed at the Twin Peaks hotel for two of our five nights in San Francisco. We were keen to stay in the Castro but didn't book in advance - this would be advised if you were looking to stay somewhere more charming or expensive as the area gets very busy at weekends - we tried four or five places that where all unavailable before finding Twin Peaks.

The guy at reception (we presume the owner) was friendly and helpful after some proprietors in other hotels weren't, so we were made happy. We were offered two rooms for what we would have paid for one at other locations, but we decided to stick with just one anyway ($59 per night plus tax).

The room was basic and out of date, but for that price we weren't expecting much else. It was very clean (and was cleaned during the day to a high standard). Communal showers aren't ideal, but they're in individual rooms which we found fine.

This hotel aint the Ritz and is never going to be - but it is clean and its location is a winner (30 seconds from Church station and right in the heart of the Castro). It's perfect for travellers on a budget who don't spend enough time in a hotel to justify paying big bucks.

  • Liked — The location, without a doubt.
  • Disliked — Nothing much.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twin Peaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Peaks Hotel

Address: 2160 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94114
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Twin Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin Peaks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.