We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manage your expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Europa Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Europa Hostel to your Saves list
Europa Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   226 6th St, b/t Tehama St & Clementina St in SoMa, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Manage your expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I was actually just looking for a place to leave our stuff while we did our touristy San Francisco things. That's exactly what it was. It is not the kind of place where one would like to linger. The beds are comfortable enough so we were able to get good nights' sleeps (or maybe we were just really tired from walking). As it is a hostel, the bathroom is shared. It was clean but had no mirrors or a table to put down one's things. The locks on the bathroom doors did need changing.

The place is clean but the corridors are narrow. There is no elevator so big suitcases became a problem. It is not that near to the touristy places and that's why I think they can offer their rooms at this low price. Wifi is free. The manager was very nice and quite helpful. Would I stay again? Probably not. There are many other places I can try.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    8
    1
    10
See reviews for
4
6
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have stayed in the hostel for 2 nights with my friend few weeks ago. The building is old and so are the rooms, but we had two very big beds in double room and the room was clean and spacious. The only thing disturbing us was the fact there was no mirror in the room (or shared bathroom)- a bit of a problem for girls at least. The hostel only offers shared bathrooms, there are 2 showers and 2 toilets. Not too clean anyway, but acceptable with using some flipflops for the shower. We had no problems with having to wait for the bathroom but its also true that we were usually quite early (around 7pm). The location of the hostel is great, only few minutes away from the market street with all possible transportation available. Also some smaller supermarkets near.. but what makes this hostel great is the owner (or at least I think he was) Carlos,which is a great source of information. Right after arriving he gave us a map and told us everything we needed to know and also was available for any questions...honestly great man! Also they offer suitcase storage for 5usd regardless the number of items. Would recommend!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hostel was awful. The bathrooms are terrible and unhygienic. The rooms are the worst I've ever slept in. I'm surprised If the hotel passes building inspection with the angle of the doors and walls. I would advise paying a little more and not staying here

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

At this place you get value for your money. It's near the Union Square and it's easy to take the train from the Airport. You can email the hostel and they tell you everything. The room was small, but cozy with a big old tv that worked.
The staff were nice.

The block is full of homeless and stoned people and there's actually a soupkitchen next to the hostel.

Depending on the money, the location is great though and near to everyting. Here's a pic of the room http://beammedown.blogg.se/2013/november/if-youre-going-to-san-francisco-be-sure-to-wear-some-flowers-in-your-hair.html

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Encore Express Hotel
#157 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
Union Square
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#120 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel North Beach
Hotel North Beach
#190 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
#4 of 49 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#13 of 49 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hostel

Address: 226 6th St, b/t Tehama St & Clementina St in SoMa, San Francisco, CA 94103
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Europa Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Europa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.