We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience, just not for me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maverick

Maverick
3316 17th St, San Francisco, CA 94110 (Mission)
(415) 863-3061
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,106 of 5,005 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Mission
Cross street: Mission Street
Transit: BART: 16th Street
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great ambience, just not for me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Loved the decor, the ambience, the unique menu style. Service was great, and the presentation of the food was lovely. Its a very sociable plate to eat with friends. Unfortunately my palette is not suited to the flavours on the menu. Needless to say the rest of our party loved it, but I found some of the flavours within the dishes incongruous and too strong for my liking.
Pickled, vinegary flavours through green veg and a lemony flavour in corn grits just did not appeal.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Fun small foodie gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Took our family - boys ages 6 and 11 to restaurant. Food and service were exceptional. Waiter was excellent and very knowledgeable on wine pairings. Loved the heirloom tomato salad and the foie gras. Fried chicken was great.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Delicious, fun, great service, we will be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our son and daughter-in-law live in the neighborhood and took us to dinner here. It's one of their favourite spots and now we know why. From the service, wine list to food everything was terrific. I split the Heirloom Tomatoes appetizer with our daughter-in-law and they were the best tomatoes and dish I've had in a long time. For a main we also split the fried chicken which was yummy and something I rarely eat but will remember! My husband and son had the halibut which was a wee bit dry but very good. Wine was delish too! Waitress was awesome, service excellent, decor terrific, ambiance = great. We will return as we hear the brunch is excellent!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I used to live in the city, and I always visit Maverick when I am back down for a visit. This still remains one of my favorite restaurants. On my most recent visit, I had the flat iron steak, sampled the pork "presse" and of course, the fried chicken. Never disappointed! Service is always excellent, but if you like a quiet space, this is not the destination--the small rooms and intimacy make for a lively volume. Monday night is usually 40% off any bottle of wine, so go big! Can't wait to come back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lively little gem in the Mission”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We took mom here when she was visiting SF. Two of three of us ordered the friend chicken. It was moist on the inside and crispy on the outside. Perhaps my favorite fried chicken in SF. It was a Saturday night, but we had no problem booking a table for the 3 earlier that afternoon. The place was packed with a couple groups (tables were no more than 4) celebrating special occasions so at times it was loud enough that we couldn't hear each other. This was a surprise, because we had been there several times before and it was not like that. Overall, Maverick is a fun place serving interesting takes on American staples. Staff are attentive and know their menu well.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maverick also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Maverick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maverick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.