We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, had a great experience there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The St. Regis San Francisco to your Saves list
The St. Regis San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #16 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, had a great experience there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

This was the last stop on a road trip from LA to SF and it was the joint best hotel I stayed along the way (the other being San Ysidro Ranch in Santa Barbara was incredible also). Stayed for 3 nights in the Astor Suite on a great package deal (3 nights for price of 2) and was very happy with my choice of this hotel over the other options (Four Seasons, Clift, Fairmont). The suite was wonderful, great views and totally relaxing. It was very big and felt like a private apartment more than a regular hotel suite. The staff at this hotel are what sets it apart though, they are so friendly and seem genuniely so, it's not forced like it is in a lot of places. The concierge was incredible (got us into 2 "fully booked" trendy restaurants) and also the Mojito's at the hotel bar were the best i've tasted. This was my first experience of a St Regis property and i'm impressed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    169
    59
    27
    14
See reviews for
104
268
54
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

This was my 3rd stay at this property, having stayed in their Astor Suite and Metropolitan Suite. Contemporary furnishings with ebonized wood floors. Luxurious cream marble baths, carpeted bedrooms, amazingly comfortable king beds. Solicitous and mannered staff, from greeters/valet at pullup in the rental car and thorough kind mannered and well trained front desk staff. Prompt service from room service, valet car pickup requests, and on premises restaurant, Ame. " Is there anything else I can do for sir ?" was a common question with each encounter with this hotel's staff. Stay here if you like contemporary furnishings, spectacular city views. Lobby bar and lounge is popular with locals and can get busy and noisy later in the evening. Well designed lobby and public areas, perhaps this property is not for you if you prefer traditional furnishings, though. I enjoy the complimentary coffee available in the mornings on the fourth floor by the casual restaurant and the large L shaped gym on 5. I did not use the 6th floor pool or spa, however. Prompt and thorough housekeeping staff and eager to please turn down service in the evenings, with every request met promptly and willingly. Museum of Modern Art is next door, and Metreon Center is across the street for films, Union Square and Market St. shopping just a few blocks away. My only negative observation is that the room/suite furnishings are looking slightly worn, some stains on the mohair sofa, and wood furniture looking very slightly scratched. Lovely thick towels, bathrobes, generous toiletries. Closet and drawer space is very limited however, a common design flaw among higher end contemporary hotels, I find. High speed elevators with rarely more than a few seconds wait. I love the motorized curtains and sun shades in the suite's bedrooms, although I must say the centralized touch screen telephone/command center can be frustrating and confusing to use unless you concentrate and look closely at the screen and it's functions.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

The St. Regis is located pretty conveniently if you have business in downtown SF. The rooms are very new and well appointed. Staff is generally helpful, but service could be better. For example, when I called the front desk to ask about internet access, they informed me it would be extra, even though I could have sworn it was included in my rate (it was).

A key issue is there is absolutely zero cellular reception if you're on AT&T. The hotel acknowledges this (obviously not their fault), so if you need blackberry access, forget about it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

A more luxurious and relaxing room I have not stayed in. Excellent design offered great functionality. Interior design was decedent, with (faux) shagreen and leather covering the walls. Furniture was a little beat up, though...could have used a touch up here and there. Lipstick mark on the carpet was unsightly, as was greasy smear on the closet door. Mattress was very good, but not outstanding. Pratesi linens were nice, and bed was well made. Very minor negatives include somewhat low water pressure for the shower, increased noise on the Market St side of the hotel, and maid still making up the room at 3:30 pm despite our leaving the room before 11 am. Beautiful lobby and nice bar. Fitness area was a notch above, except treadmills were a little cheap/unstable. Room was ready at 1:30 at check in, and soon after arrival, manager offered us a nicely made little birthday cake for the occasion, which was a very thoughtful touch. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

A friend and I stayed at the St. Regis for a long weekend in November 2009. The hotel was chosen by my excellent travel agent and she couldn't have done better. Every single person at the hotel, from the bell staff to the spa staff to the room service staff, was smiling, classy, helpful, fun, and just awesome. We each had corner rooms and the views were superb, the room design was very cool. The bar was hopping on Friday night and the design there also was very cool, and more great service. Location is great - you can walk everywhere and they'll take you to places you can't walk in the house car. Great place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

I travel a lot for work and have stayed at many hotels. St. Regis overall is a fantastic brand but the St. Regis in San Francisco is by far my favorite. The lobby is small but inviting and the rooms are stunning. I highly recommend the hotel for business or leisure stays. The location is also quite convenient.

My favorite part is the bathtub that overlooks the city. You have a great view straight from the bath. The service is also impeccable.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We had first booked a night at the Palace. We had stayed at the palace seven years ago and remembered it being nice. Once we arrived we realized that they had not changed or cleaned a thing in the past seven years. So we moved to the St Regis. And although it costs a lot more, you get what you pay for. The staff greets you by name, the rooms are large, comfortable, well appointed, the bathroom is fantastic. The parking is a bit pricey ($50 for overnight), actually all of the extras are pricey but that's to be expected. All in all a great city hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.