We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis San Francisco to your Saves list
The St. Regis San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #12 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Free Butler service that goes within 4 blocks of the property. So I do not have to go through the cold just to get a pair of socks. The butler got the socks from bloomingdales it was very helpful! Love the japanese restaurant there too.Thank you! Good stay.

Room Tip: be a member. get late checkouts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy our Signature Butler Service and dine in our Ame restaurant. Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next visit as we hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Anthony Duggan
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Anthony.duggan@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    175
    62
    32
    16
See reviews for
117
289
58
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My family of 5 was promised connecting rooms and we received adjoining rooms. At first they acted like they didn't understand the difference. It is a big difference for a family with young children! Then despite fact that I was obviously very unhappy about it and they said they would try to find me another room, I never heard back from them in the 2 nights we were there. Also, for us at least, the butler service was nonexistent. My wife's thought was that they seem very engaged towards their business group guests and a family of out of towners like us didn't matter. I have stayed in the Phoenician, Breakers, Four Seasons, etc and never experienced a five star hotel that just didn't care about a problem situation before, with no follow up whatsoever. Just not right given the high cost. Nice property though.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. I regret to hear of your experience upon arrival and sincerely apologize on behalf of our Front Desk team. I encourage you to contact me directly so that we further discuss the details of your visit and how we may improve your family experience.
Sincerely,
Anthony Duggan
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Anthony.duggan@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I was surprised that the St. Regis has a cozy contemporary modern feel. Great decor and elegant feel without the coldness.
Great place for couples and families. Near many attractions, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants. Make sure to checkout The Grove restaurant across the street for breakfast, Water Bar for lunch, Slanted Door for dinner.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertown, CT
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The rooms are terrific and the lobby is refined but not overly stuffy. The bartenders are exceptionally skilled at making drinks and conversation. It is really enjoyable to see a bar staff that takes their craft seriously and seems to enjoy their work (Matt in particular)...although the manager does seem to lurk a bit. The doormen are similarly impressive. Unfortunately the concierge team seem to be beginners. In SF the concierge is critical because there are so many places to dine and the scene seems to change all the time. As an out of towner having a pro to guide us through that scene is a big part of why I pick a place like the St Regis. Unfortunately, we talked with three of the concierge staff and only one of the restaurants they selected was above average (Alta). Fortunately, the room service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to share your review of The St. Regis San Francisco. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our Lobby Lounge and apologize for the restaurant recommendations that you received. Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time, as we hope to welcome you back to the best address in the near future.
Sincerely,
Anthony Duggan
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Anthony.duggan@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Had a great experience from the moment I called Spg the parent company of this hotel, a kindly lady helped me get the best deal since we had three rooms for 5 nights. The rooms are very modern, wonderful amenities, towels, plush sheets, modern desk for working at - lovely bottles of shampoo and so forth. Anything I asked for they immediately saw too. No complaints at all about the actual hotel, which even has a great indoor pool. Well located. Had to wait a little while at check in - but they did offer lots of drinks etc - hotel was fully booked. The concierge staff were FABULOUS - mariah, david, antonia, caroline, very very helpful and pleasant. Downside: very costly room service, no proper restaurant to eat in, breakfast restaurant very snooty. All in all well worth the money and would definitely go back if only San Francisco would heat up a little.

Room Tip: join the starwood guest club because they have great benefits at many chains.
See more room tips
Green Features: As in most hotels if you don't want your sheets changed you leave a note and if you want the towels washed you leave them in the tub. Good idea.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel and the staff (especially Irma Gabriel and Karina at front desk - both of who really spent time to get my requests handled) and the concierge staff (who booked alcatraz and helped with transportation) really do a great job. The only downside is the noise- very loud because of construction during the week and festivals during the weekend.

Room Tip: stay away from the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had our first visit to San Fran for 25th wedding anniversary & chose this hotel based upon other reviews posted on this site. Were not disappointed! The hotel was full with a convention which worked in our favor, we were upgraded to a lovely suite which was available at an early check-in time no less! The staff was all more than helpful in every way. The room extremely comfortable and well appointed. Only minor complaint is the shower's lack of water pressure, but that is probably due to the city - not the hotel. There was one night the hotel was hosting an extremely loud party on the terrace - I mean Loud- when we called front desk to ask about it they told us that they would be quited at 10pm and sure enough at 10pm it became quite, which was good because we had a very early flight out - didn't want to end our trip on a bad note. Would highly recommend this property if staying in San Fran for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and honored that you chose to celebrate the occasion at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your understanding regarding the event noise in the evening. Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next visit as we hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Anthony Duggan
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Anthony.duggan@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.