We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction ALERT...but still great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis San Francisco

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. Regis San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #16 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Wrightwood, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Construction ALERT...but still great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

If you decide to stay, ask at check in that your room be opposite side of hotel from construction. Lovely service and amenities, to include a complementary Bentley after 6pm. No coffee maker in room (must be requested). Great restuarant and priced to prove it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. We greatly appreciate your understanding of the noise from the neighboring construction and apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant and hotel amenities and hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
William.fong@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    153
    55
    23
    12
See reviews for
89
248
53
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel, what you would expect of 5 star. I was not crazy about the staff in the bar where we went to get some lunch. They were more interested in cutting their lemons and preparing mint than being friendly and serving us. Otherwise very good experience

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is an amazing hotel. From the door men who greet you or hail the hotel Bentley to bring you to dinner, or the attentive front desk, the superb concierge, and the excellent housekeeping and butler service. The room was amazing, two flat screens, two bathroom, electronic black out shades, nicely appointed. The small critique was the bed, sort of hard, not as good as a Westin or Four Seasons bed, but that is just preference. The gym was also amazing and the lobby was just the perfect blend of intimacy but dazzle. The location can't be beat, by the Metreon (perfect place for a movie and healthy snack in a clean and student/on line crowd and Market street with the trolley going from the Warf to Castro is plenty to get around, and Union Square an easy five minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I loved this hotel. All of the staff from the bellman to the check-in/reception people were very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are spacious and modern but still warm and comfortable. They had room control from your nightstand phone....shades, lights etc....very cool. The only negatives were that the fitness area was barely average and the cost of breakfast in their cafe is quite high...almost $80 with tip for 2 people. I think this hotel gets a bad rap from tourists that I think its unfair. Market Street is just a very short walk away, take a right on Market and its a nice stroll directly to the Ferry Building and the Embarcadero...I wouldn't call it a short walk but its not ridiculous by any means and on a nice day its really enjoyable..... once you get to the Ferry Building you can walk to Pier 39 and the rest of what the waterfront offers...we even walked to Ghiradelli Square. The Union Square shopping area is not far from the Hotel. I MUCH prefer this place to the W Hotel a few doors down....maybe I'm getting too old for that scene or I'm just spoiled but I much preferred the relaxing modern atmosphere of this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The service was impeccable. From the bellman to the butler everyone went out of their way to make sure our every need was met. They upgraded us to a suite which was quite spacious for a San Francisco Hotel room, and nicely furnished.
Each night the butler brought us a lovely pot of chamomile tea within 10 minutes of us calling for it. And every morning breakfast arrived in our room fresh and prompt.
We ate dinner in the Hotel restaurant, Ame, and the food was delicious, they even changed a dish to accommodate my food allergy.
The Hotel is nicely located within walking distance of good shopping. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen MIlls, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, as others have said. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend it at this time.

Our stay this past weekend was not a good one due to a demolition project going on directly across the street. We were on the 13th floor and the noise was terrible. Construction (including jackhammers!) started at 7 am on both Friday and Saturday mornings. Not only that, but we were awakened at 4 am by the incessant BEEP BEEP BEEP of a backup alarm on a construction vehicle which continued for the better part of an hour.

While this is obviously no fault of the hotel, it definitely took a lot away form our experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments on your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. I apologize for the many disturbances that the neighboring construction caused and regret that it affected your weekend visit. Thank you for your understanding during this difficult time and we hope that we may see you on a future visit to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
william.fong@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Simply a fantastic hotel experience - from the room to the service to the food and everything in between. I've stayed 5+ times now for both business and personal travel and can't wait to come back. This is laid-back luxury at its best.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.