We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis San Francisco to your Saves list
The St. Regis San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #10 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our third stay at the St. Regis. What a beautiful and elegant hotel! The staff is so pleasant and helpful, addressing us by name each time we come in, assisting with information, they can't do enough for you.
Our spacious room was upgraded, we had a fantastic view! I can' t imagine staying anywhere else when visiting San Francisco. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of The St. Regis San Francisco. We sincerely appreciate our loyal guests and are pleased that you had an exceptional stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    180
    65
    34
    16
See reviews for
123
305
59
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Chic - attentive and great location!!!
Love this property - the doormen in their bowlers who learn your name in an instant. Sheets as fine as a slip and slide --- Pillows fluffy and light. Really fabulous and lovely!
lots of work out equipment in a relatively small space and a shortage of body wash - but minor issues......
Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review of your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and that you enjoyed our décor and amenities. I apologize that you need not receive ample bath amenities, but appreciate your patience and understanding. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Have spent five nights in this nice hotel perfectly located , only couple of minutes from Union Square.We had two connecting rooms accomodating five of us, both perfectly decorated , very spacious and well maintained. Staff is extremly friendly and willing to help. With my youngest daughter have also used pool which is quite largem, clean and not crowded. Only complaint is cost of in room wi-fi access (this kind of hotel should have it complimentary) as well as breakfast arrangements - although waitress are helpfull and polite - 20 minutes to get eggs and croissiants is not acceptable (and also quote expensive)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review The St. Regis San Francisco. We are pleased to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our room décor and hotel amenities. I apologize for the delay in your breakfast service and appreciate your comments regarding the in room wi-fi. I encourage you to contact me directly so that we may discuss the details of your stay and how we may improve your experience.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I walked in at 1am with a very cranky 7-yo due to the crazy delay at the airport and still the front staff looked crisp, fresh and was very apologetic at my sad broken state. He gave my child a set of st regis memorabilia and a drawing kit which was very appreciated by the both of us. Again, St. Regis never disappoints!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have come to rely on the St Regis for any and all types of travel in the bay area.
Exceptional service! Amazing rooms!
Perfect for both business and vacation.
No doubt this is my favorite St Regis in the country.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Took family of five for post-grad Northern California getaway. Had adjoining rooms (king + two doubles and roll away). Rooms were surprisingly spacious for in-city setting and beautifully decorated. Staff was EXCELLENT - courteous and repsonsive from the moment we walked in. Had dinner in Amine restaurant upon arrvial - very chic and fun menu. Had breakfast in hotel every morning - elegant and delicious but pricey. Took kids to indoor pool every day after outings and used the well-equipped fitness center every morning. Location is perfect for in-city trips as well as quick getaways across the bridge to Muir Woods or Stinson Beach and only five minutes from Wharf. Highly recommend for business or travel.

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter and some have great views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. I am pleased that you were able to experience our hotel restaurants and amenities from dinner to Ame, breakfast in Vitrine and our pool & spa. We hope to welcome you back to the Best Address on your next trip to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very smartly located next to the Metreon and the conference center as well as the MOMA. If you are in town for a conference this is for you!
If you are a tourist then this is not your best bet as this hotel sits two blocks South of Market St.

Suites are very large and boast a dining room, a TV area with a large sofa, a separate bedroom and an expansive bathroom (separate toilets). Amenities are from Remède so top of the line. You will find those products in their Remède spa as well (located on the 6th floor).
Gym + indoor pool.

Metropolitan suites come with a 24/24 private butler service but expect a VERY slow service. If you order a bottle of champagne to treat your big clients in your suite expect to wait at least 30 min.

No coffee maker, no tea kettle, nothing that you can make yourself. Each and every cup of coffee/tea must be ordered through the butler service and expect another long wait.

No extra comforter, pillows.

Summary: nice and large suites but service can definitely be improved.

Room Tip: ask for the highest floor possible especially if you book a Metropolitan Suite as they are all locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review The St. Regis San Francisco. We are pleased that you enjoyed our guestroom décor and spa amenities during your stay. I appreciate your comments about the Butler service, and apologize for the inconvenience that the delay caused you. I encourage you to contact me directly so that we may discuss the details of your stay and how we may improve your experience.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Amex, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.