We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis San Francisco

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. Regis San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #15 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Clovis, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The St Regis is a beautiful, but expensive hotel located within walking distance from AT&T park. The rooms were lovely, and the bar action was fun when returning from a night game! The walk from the hotel to the park was enjoyable, safe and just what was needed before enjoing a great Giants Game!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    153
    55
    23
    12
See reviews for
89
248
53
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

We had a beautiful stay at the St. Regis. Although here for business coming back to thr hotel for quiet time was wonderful.

The rooms were very luxurious and comfortable with very fresh linens free of debris. The TV had unlimited channels, although, to watch movies a high payment was required. The bathroom facilities in the room were magnificent. A large bathtub was situated near a walk-in shower.

The location was very convenient for both shopping and exploring. Also, the san francisco museum of modern art is just down the block.

The St. Regis had some of the best staff service i have ever seen.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This hotel is only a few years old and it shows in its modern design and clean look. The rooms are well appointed and the bathrooms just as good. I'm a big fan of the shower. While the staff still need a bit of work to reach the level of the Ritz up the road but they still do a great job. If you are in town for an event at the Moscone Center or are looking to attend the museum you couldn't pick a better hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012 via mobile

I am staying here right now (Feb 2012) on a business conference and have found he hotel to be comfortable and relaxed. The rooms are spacious (the wall to the bathroom that can be folded back helps to give an illusion of space) and quiet, and the public spaces of the hotel are relaxed. Staff are friendly and helpful.

There is nothing special about the location - there's no view from the hotel or the surrounding area that you would write about - but the main shopping area is quite handy.

All in all, a decent place for a conference but I wouldn't stay here on holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Having stayed at St Regis Princevalle I was very disappointed in this property. Nothing Grand Delux about my room. For the price it was sub par. No Butler greeting no local car service no water offered. Will stay at the Westin or the W next time. The beddind was not the quality you would expect. Called housekeeping for a feather pillow as the foam ones on bed were hard as a rock. They brought me another foam pillow. Used a huge amount is star points and regret it,

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisSanFran, Hotel Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I apologize that we fell short of delivering the level of service that you deserve and expect from a St. Regis Hotel. Our Butler staff should have been much more available to you and our standard is two complimentary bottles of water in every room but neither was provided. Our Bentley house car service is from 6:00pm-10:00pm every evening. As soon as our bedding and terry reaches a certain level of usage, it is replaced and the fact that we did not distinguish a foam pillow from a feather one is unacceptable. I am hoping you will allow us an opportunity to regain your confidence. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for future stays.
Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed here in August 2011, for 3 nights thinking it was the warmest time to come to San Francisco but be warned! It was freezing we did not take the right clothes, t-shirts and flip flops are too cold for SF. The hotel lobby was really modern but had a great atmosphere. The rooms were MASSIVE with a great view, we had a 2 bed suite overlooking the city, they were decorated very modern, however I felt they were slightly shabby and looked worn. The only thing that let the hotel down, was the breakfast. It was order not buffet and just isn't really worth the price, it's better to find somewhere on your travels.
San Francisco is definitely a must see, and this hotel is great for touring as the location is ideal and the rooms spacious, for when you are rushing home to get ready to go back out again.
Would definitely come back when visitng San Francisco.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

With respect to the good-folk of San Francisco they are obsessed by two things; traffic and the weather- fog in particular!

It dominates both the newspaper and their local television “news” channel Kron4. Which in my opinion is the worst “news” channel in the English speaking world (and that’s saying something). That said, from a consumer perspective, when looking for a hotel, one should not underplay the potential depilating effects “hospitality fog” can have when it comes to choosing a 5 star hotel in which to spend your hard-earned dollar.

One can get disorientated in the ‘fog’ of glossy P.R. material that emanates from all these establishments-reassuring you that their hotel is the one you should seek sanctuary in until the ‘fog’ has lifted. So what to do?

My wife and I spent 11 nights at the St. Regis hotel during the festive season Dec/Jan 2012 on the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor, as well as the soothing and reassurance words published in their in-house publication: “Bespoke.”

From the moment we stepped through the lobby doors we knew we had made the right choice! While outside the air was frigid an cold, upon entering, we were enveloped in warmth of subtle brown tones, which underpins the décor, giving the entire hotel a warm, understated contemporary luxury feel.

Check in by Alan was fast, efficient and friendly and most of all welcoming, and after an 18 hour flight from Australia-that’s important!

In fact during our entire stay not once did our presence go unacknowledged by any of the staff we encountered. As we left of a morning, eye-contact by at least one employee was made, be they front desk, concierge or door. It was always: “have a good day” or “good morning” and again on our return in the evening we received the same warm greetings. In large hotels such as the St Regis it’s the little things that are very important.

Our room was on the 10th floor. I could really stretch the thesaurus here with all sorts of superlatives to describe it- safe to say it was lovely! Plain white pastel walls, capped off the delightful open-air feel the room had. Again, very important if you are going to spend 11 nights in the room is not to feel claustrophobic.

Being first time visitors to San Francisco, (and being totally unfamiliar with the vagrancies of ‘fog’), we felt that we needed to employ the services of a: “fog-master” to ensure that we continued to make the right choices when it came to choosing where to go and eat and what to see in San Francisco. The “fog-masters” of the St Regis concierge ensured that we never took a faltering step.

In no particular order: Antonio, Caroline, Kathleen, Mariah, Eric and Selena – who recommended probably the best steak house we have ever eaten at (5A5) - all of them really known San Francisco!! Every time, their recommendations on whatever we asked (tours, places to eat et al) were right on the money. Collectively they were the foundation upon which a wonderful holiday was constructed! Thank you!!

Food at the hotel is a serious business.

We ate a couple of times at Vitrine which serves local Californian-fare with the freshest of ingredients. We also enjoyed a lovely room service one evening brought to our room by the very hospitable Casey. Unfortunately we didn’t get the opportunity to dine at their signature restaurant: Ame. My wife and I hope to rectify this on our next visit at years-end.

The hotel is in a good location, a short walk from Union Square and all the public transport facilities.

So in short:

If you are planning a trip to San Francisco, pray for ‘fog’ and enjoy the refuge that is the St Regis.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.