We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little hotel in the middle of everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel to your Saves list
Park Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Rijeka, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A lovely little hotel in the middle of everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I spent my nights in many hotels and this hotel has a special place in my heart in comparison with all other hotels. Its location is fantastic, right above the Union Square and right below China Town. Their prices are very affordable. You will not get a spectacular room for this price, but their rooms are clean and cozy. The staff is professional and accommodating. This is a friendly little hotel with a location to kill for. Highly recommended for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    245
    149
    43
    23
See reviews for
38
228
135
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel is very good and a very reasonable price. We had a room with a double bed, TV, Fridge and a toilet and shower. The rooms were clean and secure - more than what you need on a City break. However I don't remember there being any air conditioning, because I had the window open on the first night - FYI - we woke up in the morning with about 10 mosquitos, one of which I managed to catch in my hands (NOT a good idea, do not try and catch mosquitos that way, it gets very messy!) We then obviously slept with the windows closed, but I don't remember being uncomfortable.
The hotel staff and very nice, they give you good advice on places to visit and the easiest way to get places.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but we did go to a great bakery, 2 minute walk, just down the hill.
The location of this hotel is fantastic, no matter what direction you go there will be something to see within about 5 minutes, shops, restaurants, bars, museums ect. To the most direct point to the bay, its about 15 minute walk.
We booked through a comparing website and got a good deal, so I would advise doing the same for this hotel.
All in all, it is a good value for money hotel, great location, clean and safe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights last week (end of June), as with most places in SF it didn't come cheap. It was over $330 for the stay in a room with no bathroom.

The room wasn't dirty, but it wasn't what you'd call clean either. I wouldn't walk around the room barefoot and again, the bedding wasn't dirty but it was worn and could do with replacing.

I had a room overlooking Sutter St (502), it was noisy day and night but as there was no air con or ceiling fan I had to keep the windows open.

It's in a great location, just a short walk to Union Sq. Loris diner on the corner of Sutter & Powell is great for breakfast btw.

My overall impression of the hotel was 'depressing', peeled paint, low watt light bulbs, dark corners and a long walk to the bathroom/shower room.

I wouldn't say here again, I'd definitely look somewhere else before booking, and there is no way I would bring my family here.

Any questions then get in touch.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland new zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at the Park Hotel for 2 nights on our way to Europe for a cruise. The hotel whilst nothing ffancy and old was clean and the bed was comfortable and most importantly handy to Union Square and also close enough to Fishermans Wharf where we walked early one mornign to go to Alcatraz. There is plenty of shopping places nearby as well as restaurants.
Area is fine and we did not experience any noise from our room coming from outside.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The location of this hotel beats all other shortcomings. In my recent stay, the staff went out of their way to help in terms of information on restaurants and shopping, etc. Especially, during the day the front desk guy, Rodel, I think, was very helpful for any local assistance I needed in terms of luggage, towels and other information. Will be coming back with my family. I would recommend to others who want a low price for a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyNagel, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us at The Park Hotel! We are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay! It was a pleasure having you here and hope to see you again next time you are in San Francisco! If there is anything we can improve on, or if you have any questions or suggestions, feel free to let us know. Again, thank you so much for staying at The Park Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The price is unbeatable in the area, you are very close to all transportations, easy to visit the town. Very close to a BART station (5-10min walk), which is nice when you come from the airport.

When my GF and I arrived a little after midnight, the hotel doors were closed, the reception was closed even though a paper on the door said it was open til 1am. So I had to call a number so that someone would come open the door for me. That was quite inconvenient since I had to wait 25-30 min. After someone from the hotel came, I asked why it said "open til 1am" when it is already closed after midnight, and he answered "that's only on weekends" (it was a friday...)
So just be careful not to arrive too late, otherwise you'll have to wait a little bit for an employee to come and open the door for you and give you your keys.

Other than that, the room was clean, the bed was ok. Nothing fancy, no luxury but that's what we were expecting. There is a sink in the room, and the common showers and bathrooms were clean as well.
There is no air conditioning though but luckily it wasn't too hot when we were there. It might be different in the middle of the summer.

A lot of people complain about the noise, but we didn't have that issue, probably because our room didn't have a window on the street (I think we were at the back). It was still a little bit noisy but nothing unbearable.
So make sure you get a room that's not on the street, and you should be fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Park Hotel offers various pros that can be perfect for travelers who seek for comfort , good location and want to save money (or just don't have enough :))

RODEZ, the front front desk manager is a great person who always makes sure the guests are pleased and happy with their rooms. If any problem occurs with your room or if you need help with directions, recommendations and the facilities, he will always be there for you.

When I stayed there, I really enjoyed the location. It's a 5 min walk from Union Square, and yet, it's a safe location, far enough from the notorious Civic Center area. The rooms are in good shape- TV, a small refrigerator, a desk and a table, a sink and a mirror. Closet too of course. The bed was super comfortable . If you get lucky, you'll get an amazing view.

The only thing that may bother you will the shared bathroom situation, but a private bathroom in the city will cost you a lot of money, and honestly, it isn't so bad. There are two toilets and one bathroom on each floor. They clean them every day.

I've stayed in other hotels in SF, and believe me when I say, this is worth your money. It's really hard to find a place in the city that matches its value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: 325 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Park Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel San Francisco
Park San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.