We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Park Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“One night enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Based on the one night we stayed here this is a motel or perhaps hostel rather than a hotel, if by hotel you think of somewhere where you would want to spend time in your room. The room was small, but it was clean and the beds were comfortable, but no attempt to make it welcoming. It's handy for Union Square etc, but I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    196
    109
    26
    19
See reviews for
28
170
106
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ludwigsburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are from the size ok, small bed (1,40m), a small washbasin, windows and a small storage room. The toiletts & showerroom were clean.
Not fare away from union square, cable car and starbucks :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked this hotel because of it's positive reviews but also for the price which was £80 per night for a double room with shared bathroom.

Admittedly on arrival in our room our hearts sank. The lampshade looked as if had been kicked around the room and the room itself was comparable to a uk travelodge room that had seen better days. However the mattress was surprisingly comfortable even if there were slight tears in the sheets. The room had a sink with hot and cold water.

Some of the guests were on internships and there were a number of short term residents. we discovered a kitchen on floor 3 and there was a washing machine and dryer (well used) on the ground floor.

The Hotel was only a base we reasoned and although I only waited for the primitive shower room twice in our week there it scored high on other points. These were the fantastic location (close to all transport links, China Town and Department Stores) and the extreme friendliness and helpfulness of the reception staff who even allowed us a 18:30 check out!

They also booked our airport shuttle on our return for 14 dollars each (well worth it)...... Even though it is the first time I have been asked point blank for a tip!

We would stay again on a budget but would pay the extra 30 usd per night for a bathroom.

A fantastic visit to SF !

Room Tip: we had a quiet room on the top floor with no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a horrible stay. Our room is good for one, but definitely not for two persons. The bed is way too small for two tiny people. Only get one pair of towels. Room doesn't get dark during the night. Walls are paperthin.
There are better and even affordable places to stay down town.
Even slept one night on the floor because of the small bed. Took some pillows and made my own sleeping spot. And used a towel as a blanket.

I would never recommend this hoStel to a friend, I would keep them away from this place.

Only good thing is the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Oregon, USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I really wanted to give this place the benefit of the doubt, but I just can't rate it higher than a three. Its almost more of a hostel than a hotel. If all you need is a place to sleep then this is the place for you, however if you want ANYTHING more than that, you may want to look elsewhere. My room had a bed and bathroom and a very small TV. That was it. The room was old and small, but clean.

The sink and mirror was in the sleeping area and mirror had very poor lighting. No air conditioning just leave window open if you want to cool things off, but sign in room says to lock windows if you aren't there and SF does sometimes get warm. No room phone.

Claimed to have Wi-Fi, but I could never get it to work. Starbucks up the street has free Wi-Fi, but is usually very busy. A better deal is to buy a cup of coffee or a drink at the Hyatt and use theirs in the lobby.

Some of the staff was friendly and helpful, some less so.

I'll probably stay here again due to price and location, but can't honestly rate it any higher.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The best was location , close to China Town and Union Square.The staff was very helpful and reccomended us great places for breakfast.Hotel was clean and comfortable enough. there was also a fridge. We stayed there 3 nights and would stay there again as it was very good value for money. The rooms were small and dark and windows overlooked the wall of the neighbouring house , but we used hotel room as a sleeping place only so we did't care.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Perfect location near Union Square and Market Street.
Very friendly staff.
We chose a shared bathroom due to budget and it worked out allright.
Bring ear-plugs if you are a light sleeper or ask for a room facing away from the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: 325 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Park Hotel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel San Francisco
Park San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.