We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, Great place, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel to your Saves list
Park Hotel
325 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great value, Great place, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and if we go back to San Francisco we wouldn't stay anywhere else. We had a good size room with big TV, and 2 chest drawers, also a desk and small fridge. We chose the share bathroom option but there was no time we had to wait. On site there was a small kitchen which we used to make a light breakfast or make tea or coffee after having a day out. Other guests used the kitchen to make light meals. There was a drawer full of disposable plates and cutlery but plenty of cooking utensils. There was also a guest laundry and computer to use. 10 minutes walking would take you to Union Square, Chinatown gates, Market St or Bart stations, or the bus to Fishermans Wharf or North Beach. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Keep in mind this is an older hotel so don't expect "modern" with great views, but our room had been newly painted and for value and location you couldn't beat it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    214
    125
    39
    19
See reviews for
34
201
116
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
'Merican
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Was in San Francisco for a week at the Apple WWDC conference. Staying anywhere else nearby would have been an extra $1,000-2,000. I wasn't there for much more than sleeping, so what I did I really miss out by not staying at the Marriott? It was no-frills, but I didn't need any. It had a clean room with a fridge and desk. The windows opened. It had a nice old steam radiator to lock my computer to. There was even a full kitchen around the corner.

There are a number of poor reviews of this hotel. Ignore them. This is not a typical American hotel like the Grand Hyatt or Sheridan with pool, sauna, and day spa. This is very much like a European 2-3 star hotel.

The hotel WiFi was quite slow, but no worse than any Marriott I've ever stayed in (and I'm a Marriott Rewards Gold member, so I know). There is a Starbucks around the corner in any direction. The neighbourhood is extreme high-rent tourist shopping area. That attracts a lot of panhandlers.

I would certainly stay here again if I had to hang around downtown San Francisco for a week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel is very well located near Union square, room big enough, I sleep well, but traffic can be hear through closed windows. Super helpful and kind receptionists. I standed several nights without problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locarno
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

room is small for 3 guests but it was clean. The location is perfect, it's very close to Union Square. Good Price for a Hotel in the center, Cable cars in Walking distance. Receptionists were very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Two of us stayed here when we were looking for a really cheap room to attend a conference nearby. The room and halls are old, dingy, but not unclean - just worn out. It felt a bit like staying at the house of an old aunt who had recently died, but without all of the charm of any character or personal belongings. It's definitely a budget option, but in fact after booking I found several other hotels downtown with similar pricing that would have felt a little more like an actual hotel. The staff were very friendly and the location was fine.

Room Tip: The street facing rooms are loud. Even if you're from a big city, you'll find it loud - most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed here in late April for a couple of the nights.

The location is great, the service is cheery, and the price is good for SF. The wifi is also good too.

Bad points: though clean, my room was pretty drab verging on austere and the TV didn't work that well.

If you're on a budget and want a safe, no frills place to stay I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this place. If you're looking for something a bit more polished, then maybe carry on with your search.



  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverstone, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights. While the location is great the actual hotel is disgusting. The rooms smelt and were not clean at all, our bedsheets were made from foam and fell apart when we touched them, the furniture was out of date and broken, the TV did not turn on, the bath towels were tiny and thin, the shower had not been cleaned properly and the water was cool both times we showered. A couple of hours after checking in we went downstairs to get some advice on where to go and what to do and the girl who was working at the desk completely ignored us for about 10 minutes while she talked to her friend on the phone. The elevator in the building is one of the old ones where you pull the door open and shut and we ended up being trapped in it while it went from one level to another and didn't stop.. Our experience here was horrible, the only reason we stayed was because we already paid and we didn't plan to spend much time in our room. I wouldn't recommend anyone staying here, not even a backpacker looking for a cheap room, there would have to be better places for the price you would pay to stay here. Shocking place and will never return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: 325 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel San Francisco
Park San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.