We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovery of great SF Tapas Bar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bocadillos

Bocadillos
710 Montgomery St, San Francisco, CA 94111-2104 (Financial District)
415-982-2622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #935 of 4,671 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Financial District
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Discovery of great SF Tapas Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Love this place! First time here, and there was little or nothing to dislike. The tapas plates were flavorful & distinct, the service was friendly & efficient without being annoying, and the ambiance rivaled anything we experienced in Spain. The prices were neither cheap nor exorbitant ($5 for a good draft beer in a huge glass); with one clean unisex bathroom for a relatively small dining area. Our voucher from TravelZoo was graciously received and we sat near a window ideal for people-watching. It was somewhat confusing that the website & voucher clearly said no reservations, but there were many tables marked as reserved. The restaurant is open for all three meals, but we chose dinner and nearby parking garages were not difficult to find mid-week. All the dishes were delicious, but the "Arm of the Gypsy" dessert is a must, if for no other reason than the intriguing name, lol!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VirtualDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hampstead
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of yummy little plates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our group of 6 enjoyed tasting and sharing a lot of small plates. They had a great variety of delicious foods -- halibut ceviche, seasonal mushrooms, shrimp beets, corn salad, beef tongue and lots more. Desserts were great too -- crème brulee, chocolate cake. It was a fun place but small. The staff was helpful and attentive. The unisex bathroom was in the middle of the room which was kinda weird. Overall, I'd recommend Bocadillo's for an interesting, tasty evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tapas with style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Enjoyed this hidden dining location next door to the Transamerica Pyramid. Tapas were delicious, flavors were very distinct and vivid, the plate size was just right, served in style. Speaking of style, the atmosphere is modern, little candles on red brick walls, dark wooden furniture, very clean. Their wine selection is limited, but the wines are very good. Try it. Especially if you never had tapas before, you'll like it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tasty and stylish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you want a modern twist on tapas with great tasting food then this is a good option. Small and stylish this is good for couples and business. Service was quick and easy. Would certainly go again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Giles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“If you want tapas go elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A few years ago I went to Spain and my husband bought me the Pinxtos cookbook which is written by the chef who owns this restaurant. By total fluke, we realized his restaurant was in San Francisco and we figured we had to try it on our recent visit. In retrospect, we should have ordered empanadas from the cerveceria down the street and save ourselves the disappointment (and the money - this place is bad value for what you get).

We were really excited to try this place and had high expectations. We were greeted by a friendly server who informed us that there were no tables and that we'd have to sit at the bar. That was no problem; however there was a huge table in the middle of the room that was completely empty and stayed empty for the duration of our meal, which coincided with closing time. Were they holding it in the hopes that a big group for show up? Umm ok, but I'm here now and sitting on a cramped bar stool.

On to the food, which is why we came. The menu was short on items and long on disappointment. First of all there was no pulpo - a standard in tapas and featured prominently in the cookbook. Next, there was no morcilla - again I thought I was going to a Spanish restaurant.

We ordered the kale and chorizo which was boring and greasy. The lamb burger was bland. the patatas bravas were wedges not like they're supposed to be. The tripe was disgusting and I actually like tripe. Callos was one of my favourite things to eat in Spain. What I was served was tripe in tomato sauce - no flavour. Even something simple like salt would have helped!

The wine was good. The dessert was the best part of the meal. I had the flan. It was delicious.

Another weird thing, there was this strange movie on repeat. A movie that looked like it was made in the early 80s about dirt biking. What does that have to do with anything? But we had no choice except to watch it, because we were sitting at the bar facing it instead of at the empty table facing each other.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SammyNPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocadillos also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bocadillos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing