We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, wine and space for friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vicoletto San Francisco

Vicoletto San Francisco
550 Green St, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)
+1 415-433-5800
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vicoletto San Francisco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #353 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Jasper Place
Perrysburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, wine and space for friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Italian is a sure thing with my group of friends and Vicoletto did not disappoint. Entrees at our table included the lasagna (unique little individual rolls of pasta), gnocchi (excellent) and tagliatella -- which everyone enjoyed. A good representation of Italian wines were available, and copious amounts of bread, which they frequently replenished. Traveling with a large group can be difficult to find a restaurant where we can all sit together. Vicoletto managed to get us all in one large table -- unfortunately in the basement. Of course, we wandered through the restaurant and it was lovely, so if we had a table of 4 vs.12, I'm sure that it would have been an even better experience. Kudos to the staff who managed our table and another large group next to us with a professional flair.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    46
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and service. Small place but has a good atmosphere. The manager runs a tight ship and it shows in the quality of the service. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“first time visitor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

as a frequent visitor to San Francisco we have tried many small neighborhood style restaurants over the last few years. Vicoletto was an unknown to us; we made our plans after reading generally favorable reviews.

We were a group of 5 on a Thursday night and treated to a great casual dinner with attentive and friendly wait staff. Splitting 4 appetizers was our start; panzanella salad with just the right acidity and flavors, grilled calamari served cold with greens cooked perfectly, exceptionally creamy burrata with tomatoes and a casserole of cauliflower served with béchamel sauce and cheese with great taste and texture. We added an Italian white Arneis that complemented the selections perfectly (the wine was reasonably priced at <$40).

The menu is small with a variety of pasta selections and 3 entrees. We all chose pasta; home made gnocchi with a marinara sauce (it was on the menu with a cream sauce but they pleasantly agreed to change the sauce) and a black squid ink pasta with mussels, clams and other seafood. Each pasta dish was prepared al dente. The pasta choices ranged from various meat to seafood preparations; we can't wait to return to try other selections.

Deserts were a try on their Tiramisu and a chocolate lava cake; we were pleased with both.

Overall we add Vicoletto to our list for a return, great for a casual dinner with high quality fresh southern Italian food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

For our last night in the city, we had to have Italian after traveling through the North Beach neighborhood for several days. A great bistro vibe, the service was attentive and prompt. We started with the mozzarella appetizer, which should not be missed. Our entrees of Gnocchi and Lasagna did not disappoint. The deconstructed lasagna was super cheesy and the sausage in the gnocchi was very flavorful. This is definitely an excellent choice for Italian.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great intimate Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Turns out in SF not too many places are open for Sunday dinners. Luckily for us, Vicoletto was. The restaurant isn't very large, which provides a nice intimate setting. There is an option to sit outside if you'd like to enjoy the lovely SF weather.

The menu, which not extensive, offers a good variety of options - all priced reasonably. I recommend the linguine with crab which was fantastic!

Additionally, you can order a bottle of wine to accompany your meal for around $30-$35.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vicoletto San Francisco also viewed

 

Been to Vicoletto San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vicoletto San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.