We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Pastry and Cafe

Stella Pastry and Cafe
446 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-3902 (North Beach)
415-986-2914
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 4,945 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Bakery, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: North Beach
Antioch, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stumbled on this Café when walking from China Town down to Fisherman's Wharf. I ordered the Café Mocha and it was the best Mocha I have had in a very long time. Even my husband who is not a fan of Espresso drinks tried mine and raved about it. The Sacrapantina is to die for!! Have not had anything like it since my childhood in NYC. Stop in and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    33
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A visual delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I stumbled on this gem one morning out walking. We stopped for pastries and coffee which were superb. Staff very friendly and the serving cabinet is full of the most amazing pastries and desserts, which reminded me of similar shops I have seen in my travels in Italy. Visit for a sweet treat, that wont break the budget.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Sacrapantina changed our lives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The little cafe/bakery is a national treasure. Our walking guide pointed it out and made a morning stop - and that's where the love affair began. We had a real espresso coffee (America, seriously what is your fascination with Starbucks) then were tempted to try the Sacrapantina for which Stella is famous. Beware of imitations this is one of the best slices of cake we have encountered in our lives. Needless to say we came back again the next day for a sweet 'breakfast'.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Quite Authentic Italian desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We got an assortment of their cookies, macaroons and tarts, and enjoyed them all. Great with a nice cup of coffee!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small nice confectionery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Came with a group of 8 and selected a variety of sweets annd drinks, everything was prepared swiftly and accurately. Sad that I could not get my Italian soda, but they were out of the soda.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella Pastry and Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Stella Pastry and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Pastry and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.