We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pastries to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Pastry and Cafe

Stella Pastry and Cafe
446 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-3902 (North Beach)
415-986-2914
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 4,937 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Bakery, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: North Beach
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent pastries to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This bakery is the real deal - our to-go pastries were attractively packaged and extremely delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    79
    31
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Desserts galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stopped in here on consecutive nights in SF. The first night we had a chocolate chip cookie (very good), an oatmeal cookie (my wife said was dry) and a Neapolitan pastry, which was better than any place I've been except Bova bakery in Boston. The next night we had Black Forest Cake and another cookie, along with both chocolate-covered and plain macaroons. The cake was superb--moist and delicious. The macaroons were probably the best we've ever had, melted in your mouth and delightful in taste. There were a lot of people in there both times but still had room to sit down and eat inside or out. This is a definite 10!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't quite understand the fuss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Tried Stella Pastry and Cafe out this weekend based on all the wonderful reviews here. All in all, it was alright, but I most certainly don't understand what all the fuss is about here online. It's very much an average bakery.

We've lived and traveled all around Europe, including Italy, so we had certain expectations coming here. The place itself is small and doesn't have any particularly nice atmosphere, but that's not a problem in itself, you go for the food, not the ambiance. The cake selection is not so large, and definitely not European - most of the cakes are basically sponge cake with a different type of frosting or cream, including even Italian favorites like Tiramisu. Another negative is that the cakes are a bit too sweet, clearly adjusted for a North American market as opposed to European (in contrast, a US bakery which nails the European taste is Bittersweet in Chicago). In the end, we got the Tiramisu and mixed berry tart, and though they were OK, they were definitely not above average.

In conclusion, in my opinion, this is the kind of place you might stop by if you're already strolling around Columbus ave, but definitely not a top #30 restaurant in all of San Francisco.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Cannoli & Chocolate Macaroon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We heard this bakery in North End makes the best pastries so we had to give it a try. Stella has been making scrumptious desserts since 1942. We decided to get a cannoli, macaroon & tiramisu. The cannoli was so delicious. The cream filling was so smooth & flavorful. Definitely one of the best we have eaten. The chocolate covered coconut macaroon was to die for.The best macaroon we have ever tasted. I don't usually like macaroons & was amazed how delicious it was. First you taste the smooth dark chocolate & then the light fluffy coconut cake melts in your mouth. Amazing! The tiramisu was disappointing but to their defense I tend to compare it to my favorite from Italy. The bakery has many delicious looking treats to choose from & it is definitely difficult to decide. The place is small but they do have tables to enjoy your dessert.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“Cannolis - delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Tipped off by waiter at Cinecitta when I asked about where to get cannolis. They are so delicious! The display cases were full of beautiful italian pastries. Tables for enjoying an expresso and desert. I will definitely go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Stella Pastry and Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Stella Pastry and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Pastry and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.