We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian pastries and desserts in SF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Pastry and Cafe

Stella Pastry and Cafe
446 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-3902 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)
415-986-2914
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 195 Bakeries in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Italian pastries and desserts in SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

No visit to San Francisco's North Beach neighborhood is complete without a stop at Stella's. The selection of pastries and desserts cannot be beat. Whether looking for the perfect dessert following a meal at one of the neighborhood's great restaurants, or just exercising the sweet tooth mid-afternoon by having a coffee and a sweet (think a slice of chocolate and rasberry mousse!), you will be very pleased if you find your way here.
The staff is great and the small seating area, both inside and out, somehow always seems to have a table ready when you are.
Having a selection of Italian cookies at home during the Christmas holidays is a must and the only ones we will have come from Stella's. We make it a point to come from the South Bay in order to get these cookies for the holidays.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    43
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We picked up a few items to go. The cannoli were wonderful. They have a lovely variety of Italian baked goods. The service was very friendly! Did not get any beverages, but saw some people with some really beautiful espresso drinks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious Pastry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The pastries we had here were so good, we came 2 nights in a row. The atmosphere is great and they take cards- $5 minimum. Like most places they open late. Only complaint is that the first night we went we ordered a decaf & the girls working told us they were out & wouldn't make another pot. We got an Italian soda instead and that was just as delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Just like my Nona's- the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have a soft spot for Stella's- my fiance proposed over cappuccino and cheesecake and its always the perfect spot to revisit.
Everything is made fresh in house- you can watch them make you coffee delights. The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable so just ask if you cant decide. This spot is a staple for us and we always come here for a sweet treat when we are in the neighborhood. Its the best!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Authentic italian bakery for coffee and pastry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in this afternoon while walking in the North Beach area. Had coffee and pastry. I tried a slice of the house specialty sacripantina. It is a vanilla spongecake with a rum custard filling and topping. It was very light and delicious. My friend had some cookies . The kitchen was open so I could observe them baking tarts in back. A great little stop and they sell cookies on line too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Stella Pastry and Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Stella Pastry and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Pastry and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.