We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Italian cookies - you need to try!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Pastry and Cafe

Stella Pastry and Cafe
446 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133-3902 (North Beach)
415-986-2914
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Bakery, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: North Beach
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian cookies - you need to try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

One of my absolute favorites in San Francisco. The cookies are crisp, buttery, and delicious Italian-style. Cannoli literally melts in your mouth. I made several trips during my business trip, and each time the server helped me pick out a good mix of the delicate cookies. He even pointed to his favorites, and convinced me to try new ones. Also have excellent coffees.

If you like cookies, you need to stop by Stella Pastry and Cafe!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    36
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Great pastries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stopped here for breakfast pastries...so glad we did.....yummmmmmmmmmmmmm Easy to find and reasonably priced

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Cannolli ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Little place on Columbus with the best pastries in town! Our favorite spot for a cappachino and dessert after a great Italian dinner in North Beach. The cannolli are truely amazing!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Our favorite spot in the City - will keep coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have been coming to Stella for a few years now. For us, no trip to the City is complete without walking through North Beach for a stop here.

This past week we stopped in on Tuesday evening, and right when we walked in the place got busy. Still, the guy working was handling everything very professionally, with a smile, great attitude and focus. Once things quieted down, he struck up a conversation with us and continued to be a gentleman.

The treats at this spot are so yummy, absolutely everything looks good and tastes delicious. Stella's is famous for its Sacapantina cake, but this past time we tried an eclair (we chose whipped cream, although custard was also available), chocolate raspberry cake, and chocolate dipped chocolate butter-type cookies to go - all were great! Price wise, especially for being in the city and size of the desserts, we felt it was very reasonable.

Highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Fantastic cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I stoped by chance with my mum, and we weren't disapointed! The best cheesecake i ever ate. All the little italian cakes seemed very good too! A charming place to take à sweet break

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Stella Pastry and Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Stella Pastry and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Pastry and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.