We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good Mexican food at a good price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Las Margaritas Restaurant

Las Margaritas Restaurant
2801 Leavenworth St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1129 (Fisherman's Wharf)
(415) 776-6996
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,238 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Fisherman's Wharf
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pretty good Mexican food at a good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

As we came off our first cable car ride, this was the first place we saw. We love Mexican food so we thought it was worth a shot. The service was not great, but the food was pretty good. We had Guacamole and margaritas to start, which were good, but the margaritas were a little small for the money. My husband had beef tacos and I had a spinach enchilada. No complaints about either of the meals. The atmosphere was lacking a little, but for a quick meal at a good price this is a good choice. The whole time we ere in the restaurant there were only a few other couples in there, so this is a good choice if you do not want to deal with the crowds a few blocks away.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    45
    27
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Guess we were not ready for Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

When in Rome... and I guess since we were not in South Texas maybe Mexican was the wrong choice. We ordered a couple entrees, I had the seafood enchilada type plate and it was good. My wife had the taco salad and it was lacking in flavor. They did pour a good margarita on the rocks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food, but lacks atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Food was excellent and good value for money, especially for San Francisco . Service was too fast as our main meals came before we had finished our starters.




Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing authentic food, lack lustre service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The food was amazing, we opted for the combination meals, everything was really tasty with plenty of beans and rice to go with your mains. Everything was full of flavour, the meats were all great quality and melted in the mouth. I asked for a Mojito and despite a bar with a hundred spirit bottles on it, this was a definite no! We ate at lunch, the place was empty and the waiter seemed to be inconvenienced by our presence. No smiles, recommendations, just very simple order taken, food arrives, bill paid. Food 10 out of 10 service 0.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Slow Service - Very Average Entrees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Average. This restaurant had good guacamole and some good chips but the entrees were not really great. I ordered a burrito with chicken, rice, and beans and I got this tiny burrito on a plate and the content was terrible. It fell apart quickly and instead of black beans, there were refried beans inside and it ruined the flavor. The chicken wasn't good and the rice was OK. A friend got the Carne Asada and I tried it but it tasted like pure fat. My father got the beef and chicken chimichangas and I tried the beef one and it was okay like a 3/5. Their service was also kind of bad because the waiters took forever to come to get our drink orders, get them back, and ask for what we wanted to eat. Waiters were kind of friendly but still not great. Probably not coming back here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Margaritas Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Las Margaritas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Margaritas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.