We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HRD Coffee Shop

HRD Coffee Shop
521A 3rd Street, San Francisco, CA 94107 (South Beach)
(415) 543-2355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 4,937 restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Korean, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: South Beach
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

GREAT FOOD! You know a place makes great food when there is a line out the door. I had the Korean Kimchi Burrito and it was to die for. The Service was over the top. You can tell the owners and staff really cared about their reputation because they gave top notch service comparable to what they teach in the hospitality business. Was asked several times if the I was doing alright and felt like I was a regular even though it was my first time. Highly recommend this spot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    45
    12
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Change from the main stays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent fusion food that serves up great flavours in a small cafe. The queues of locals picking ip lunch tells you this is a place not to be missed. The burritos are the size of s torpedo so best be hungry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

HRD and HRD Smoking Grill are fantastic restaurants!! My daughter and I visited SF and enjoyed going to both restaurants! Great food, and excellent service!!! Excellent value for your money, too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great BBQ with an Asian twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I ordered the pulled pork sandwich and my husband ordered the pork chops. Both were excellent. We sat right next to the area where all of the food orders came up and also saw delicious looking burritos. It is open longer hours into the evening than listed on the website.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just what I needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Couldn't think of a better last meal in the US before flying back home. I had the spicy kimchi pork burrito. The Korean components of the dish was authentic which is a good sign but wrapped in a burrito for the American experience. Would like to have tried their other dishes but gives me a reason to come back next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HRD Coffee Shop also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to HRD Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HRD Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.