We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seas Restaurant

Four Seas Restaurant
731 Grant Ave, Chinatown, San Francisco, CA 94108-2113 (Chinatown)
415-989-8188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,553 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Chinese, Dim Sum
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Went here with a large group and the service and food was excellent - food so good I couldn't help overheating :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    14
    18
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, Cal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wok Wiz tour of Chinatown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Ate at the Four Seas as part of the Wok Wiz tour of Chinatown. Service was excellent and food was great. We loved it. Great experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hidden Valley Lake
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun experience but a bit pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a fun place to eat in China Town and the food and view were good if you are looking for a clean, cool place to sit down. The only complaint was that it was a bit pricey after the dim sum (appetizers) that they keep bringing to your table. Next time I will try one of the many stop in places on the street.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
697 reviews 697 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
“Dim Sum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

There isn't much Dim Sum (i.e. none) where we come from so visiting a San Francisco Dim Sum restaurant is always a treat. We wandered around Grant Street for awhile before choosing the Four Seas.

Long set of steps up to the dining room, where we were warmly greeted and seated. Almost immediately, servers started coming to our table with trays loaded with bamboo steamers and showing us the contents. "Would you like shrimp shumi? Or maybe some pork dumplings? Potstickers?" Server after server, steamer after steamer.

Finally we had enough and started to dig in with our chopsticks. "Oh, this is good! Oh, try this! More of that, please!" So much good food and so fun! Too bad we finally got full and had to stop!

To my mind, the Four Seas is a fairly typical San Francisco Dim Sum restaurant. It's good food and good fun for a reasonable price. And let's face it, you must try dim sum when in San Francisco!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I thought I was in Chinatown”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Wow. What a disappointment. My son and I ate at Four Seas on July 25th and were really looking forward to good Chinese food. We were given a nice table by a window ( the restaurant was not very busy. not a good sign ), but the food and service were marginal. The first dish came out luke warm and the second dish came out some 12 minutes later. I've eaten a lot of good Chinese food in many different cities, but the food I was served at Four Seas ranked near the bottom in terms of quality and taste.Though the waitress was apologetic, she did little else to satisfy this customer. This restaurant has been around for years. Has the ownership changed? If you are visiting Chinatown, I would suggest avoiding Four Seas. A few days later, we ate at Fortune Star in San Mateo on 25th Ave. The food and service here are excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Seas Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Four Seas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.