We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, right in the centre of the Fishermans Wharf.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lou's Pier 47 Restaurant

Lou's Pier 47 Restaurant
300 Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94133-1108 (Fisherman's Wharf)
415-771-5687
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,131 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Fisherman's Wharf
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, right in the centre of the Fishermans Wharf.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

It helped that it was one of the most wonderful and sunniest days in San Fran and we had a nice table under the sun !

Service: Alicia was very helpful.

Food: ok. Crab salads were very fresh.
Value: not cheap, but absolutely in line with the other restaurants all around there.
Tip: we are Londoners, and did not know that if you buy a soft drink here, you don't pay any extra ones if you ask for a "refill": that's the magic word !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    94
    47
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What You Would Expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is what you would expect. High prices because of location and an out dated in need of T L C dining room. You will enjoy the views. But the food is nothing to write home about. If there is a prixe fixe then you may find it a good compromise.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“After 20+ minutes the waiter never came...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a drink at the bar while waiting for a table and Brian, the bartender, was Fabulous! However, once we were seated at a table the waiter never came. After 20-30 min. We left!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OK
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Reall good, fresh fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was just about the best fish and chips I've tasted. The fish filets were snapper, and must have been very fresh. They were served piping hot, and were delicious. they were so goo that I though I might get something similar a few nights later at Bumba Gump's Shrimp at pier 39. Wrong; I should have gone back to Lou's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Simple Seafood Setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our goal was seafood every day in San Francisco. We ordered the steamed crabs which came with French fries. The service was average considering there were few other diners. The setting is bare bones. But it is on Fisherman's Wharf and the crab was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou's Pier 47 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lou's Pier 47 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lou's Pier 47 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.