We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the definitive Irish Coffe in SF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Cafe

Buena Vista Cafe
2765 Hyde Street (at the Beach), Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109-1222 (Russian Hill)
(415)-474-5044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #180 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Hamburgers, Seafood, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Saratoga, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“the definitive Irish Coffe in SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

after living in the bay area for so many years, and many, many trips to SF, hard to believe I'd never quite made it into the famous Buena Vista Cafe. Finally did yesterday with a group of friends, and it did not disappoint!

Excellent Irish Coffee, fun atmosphere, location can't be beat.

I will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    311
    96
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a drink!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We didn't eat here, so I really can't review the food, but drinks were cheap and really strong! Also, good customer service--bartender was great, very friendly! I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to hang out at the end of the day and have a drink.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Classic American breakfast overlooking San Francisco Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

A special brunch on 1st January 2014 meant a short wait (we spent more time trying to street park) for a table that we willingly shared with others. Fast coffee service and an expectation of fast menu choices. Abundant coffee, fresh OJ, Bailey's coffees, cocktails to accompany eggs benedict with pork patties/canadian bacon, bacon-eggs & french toast & vegetarian options. Food noticeably not swimming in oil which makes a change. So popular that fellow visitors hover by your table - an excuse for more conversation. A breakfast to set you up for the day in an iconic part of the city, a very sociable and friendly cafe.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Irish Coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is the purported home of Irish Coffee. During the tourist season, it's standing room only, but on a cold, clear night in January we had a table to ourselves and a reminder of what a no-nonsense Irish Coffee is. Great fun! Oh yes, they do have things to eat and other drinks.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Rolled off the cable car straight in to the Buena Vista Cafe! Sitting at shared tables means that the social experience, enhanced by a few rounds of Irish coffees, is insured. The menu is wide and fun, and the food very good! We had a particularly characterful waitress whose presentation of the napkins was an art form! When I asked for regular coffee, I was told in no uncertain terms that it wasn't available - so we just had to have yet another round of Irish. Great way to spend a Sunday morning in San Francisco!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buena Vista Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Buena Vista Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.