We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for the Irish coffee !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Cafe

Buena Vista Cafe
2765 Hyde Street (at the Beach), Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109-1222 (Fisherman’s Wharf)
(415)-474-5044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 4,595 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must for the Irish coffee !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have been to San Francisco 10 times now and always go for a late night Irish coffee ! Then you can come outside and catch the last cable car back up the hill! The staff are very good and watching them back 14 perfect Irish coffees in one go is great!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    397
    117
    34
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Irish Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The bartenders are fun to watch and very attentive. I thoroughly enjoyed my Irish coffee and the atmosphere. The place was packed and the crowd had high energy, friendly and fun.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Irish coffee galore!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Wow, if there was one place to have an irish coffee, and I mean one place, this is it! The bartender who we spoke to has been there for 20 years and is an expert at the irish coffee! They are delicious and a good value. We didn't eat here, and not sure we would... but the coffees are a must if you are at Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
230 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bustling Buena Vista”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stop by the Buena Vista on every visit to San Francisco and it does not disappoint! I always order the iconic Irish Coffee and it is the best I have ever had. I have not eaten a meal at this restaurant, but I go for the atmosphere. Tables are shared, which encourages conversation with other patrons, often other visitors.

It is located between Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Must Visit When In San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stop in here on every visit to San Francisco. We just love it. Right at the end of the Hyde Cable Car route and right on the bay. A window to the world. The Irish Coffee is a must and for us the eggs benedict are also a must early in the morning. The staff is always happy and helpful. Yes it is crowded and often standing room only in the evening (but that is what makes it fun!) but we really love the morning. Don't miss this San Francisco tradition.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buena Vista Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Buena Vista Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.