We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Coffee & Corned Beef Hash!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Cafe

Buena Vista Cafe
2765 Hyde Street (at the Beach), Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109-1222 (Russian Hill)
(415)-474-5044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #183 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Hamburgers, Seafood, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
North Carolina
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Irish Coffee & Corned Beef Hash!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

When you visit San Francisco, it's mandatory to stop in at Buena Vista Cafe for an Irish coffee (or two!). Our most recent visit was no exception. We were a group of 8 and initially sat at the bar for Irish coffee and when a table for 8 opened up, we moved there to order breakfast. I love corned beef hash and it was perfect! This is a busy, happening place and we started off our day with a smile!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    307
    96
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A great breakfast and a great Irish coffee. What more can one want. The crab specialties are the best . The Omlets are also quite good, especially the bacon and cheese.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“surprisingly good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Saw this on a travel/food show and had to add it to my itinerary. Irish coffee was very good, a little sweet for my taste but they use Tullamore Dew and a nice cream and that made the difference. The breakfast was really good and the corned beef hash was great. Definitely add this to your list of breakfast spots even if you don't like irish coffee. Service was quick and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Local appeal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A great bar just up from the Golden Gate end of Fisherman's Wharf; a local crowd and relaxed atmosphere. Stopped in for breakfast (a feast) and an evening drink; the Irish coffee is a must.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and terrific Irish coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My dear companion and I stopped at the Buena Vista after a nice stroll along the waterfront. I had the spinach and mushroom ravioli. My companion had a chicken caesar salad. Our server was an attentive young gal who took excellent care of us. The food was great. The salads were crisp. The sourdough was tasty. We each had an Irish coffee. The prices at Buena Vista are very reasonable. You will enjoy it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buena Vista Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Buena Vista Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.