We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popped in for a quick bite.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Cafe

Buena Vista Cafe
2765 Hyde Street (at the Beach), Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109-1222 (Russian Hill)
(415)-474-5044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 5,004 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Hamburgers, Seafood, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Popped in for a quick bite.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

First day in California and the cable car conveniently stopped outside the door.

We chose our our table and ordered from the menu. Free water was provided then our drinks arrived. The chicken and ham club sandwich and fries was delicious as was the one the boy had with bacon. We both loved our food as well as the atmosphere. Great introduction to San Francisco. Our waitress was a delight.

Only downside for me was that I thought the male restroom was a bit grubby and could do with a makeover.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    307
    96
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Never will go there again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were told that this place was good for dinner from some locals at a shop. We knew nothing about Buena Vista before going there or even that they were famous for Irish Coffee. So...when we got there it was busy so we tried to talk to a waitress about getting a table. (Obviously, we did not know of the "everyone is on their own" policy.) Well...the waitresses did not give us the time of day to even tell us the procedures. In fact they told us to move out of the way. In the meantime, my friend was trying to ask the bartender how we could get a table for 4. All of a sudden there were 4 irish coffees in front of him and the bartender saying, "That will be $42.50". WHAT??? How did wanting a table for 4 get translated into 4 Irish Coffees? They were the most RUDE people we have ever seen. Will NEVER go back or recommend it. Went to a very nice seafood place down the street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Give me another!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Buena Vista makes Bueno Irish Coffee! Yum! The atmosphere is great and the Irish Coffee was the best! We loved visiting this lively cafe near Fisherman's Wharf! We were seated immediately at the bar and the bartender was lots of fun! He was very informative and shared his mixing secrets with us! Tullamore Dew will make you smile too! Give me another!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The American home of Irish coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

They told me they sell about 1500 a day (at $8). This is where it started in the states. They now use Tullamore Dew. Nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Another Irish Coffee please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Who would think that a cafe with a Spanish name makes the best Irish coffee in town? This place became my last stop every night on my way back to the Argonaut Hotel - which by the way is fabulous - the atmosphere is great - there is a real buzz and they serve great food too - I always recommend this place to all my friends

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buena Vista Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Buena Vista Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.