We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Paddy's Day Eve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Irish Bank

The Irish Bank
10 Mark Lane, San Francisco, CA 94108-3703 (Downtown)
415-788-7152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #839 of 4,918 restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Murrieta, California
2 reviews
“St. Paddy's Day Eve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The location and service was good. The bouncer was funny but looked like he could take care of trouble if he needed to. The food was average. The beer was cold. It was close to our hotel and inexpensive. I would go there again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    33
    45
    24
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centerton, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this bar. I wish I could remember the bar tender's name. He was great! I ordered a Shandy and he asked my preference for beer used. That absolutely hit the spot for me. Everybody seemed to enjoy their selves. I know I did. Had left a phone, so had to walk back to the bar. When got back, notice the bar tender, from another Irish bar, eating dinner here. I didn't much care for the bar, that he served at, even though more people were at that one, than the Irish bank. Their loss, because the Irish Bank is simply better!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Irish Bar Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Coming from Boston, we started immediately searching for the best Irish pub in SF. So far, the award goes to the Irish Bank. Wonderful atmosphere, both indoor/outdoor seating, food and drinks above par. The Irish Bank is a place where you can (and want to) become a regular. Hands down, best Irish bar I have found thus far in the Bay area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Our local pub while in San Fran”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled in on our rainy first day in San Fran of a 2 week trip. Felt nice & welcoming straight away - great staff & good pub grub for a couple of Aussies away from home for Xmas & New Year. Let's just say we visited & few more times and were looked after every time!! Thanks Connor, Mark & eveyone else!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Authentic and Legit Irish Bar w/Fantastic Shepherds pie and Surly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Fantastic ambiance and location down a little back alley with the best collection of Irish pictures on the walls inside and out that I've ever seen! The building is classic old school brick and mortar and appears to be over 100 years old. Probably the closest to an authentic Irish Pub you will see outside of Ireland. Excellent beer selection along with dry cider, which is very hard to find in the States. The Shepherds pie is outstanding and easily the best I've ever had other than homemade. We liked it so much, we visited 3 times during our 4 day stay. Only minor quibbles are that the service is a little on the slow side, not friendly and on a couple of occasions was a little surly and contemptuous. If they improved on this, I would give it 5 stars.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irish Bank also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The Irish Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Irish Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.