We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese Food / Reasonably Priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chung King Restaurant

Chung King Restaurant
606 Jackson St, San Francisco, CA 94133-5007 (Chinatown)
415-986-3899
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,782 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Oxnard, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food / Reasonably Priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were looking for some authenic Chinese Food while in San Francisco. Chung King was recommended by an employee at the Exploritorium who lives in Chinatown. After a bus ride and some walking we found it. Glad we did, the food was excellent and three of us ate for $28 dollars. The Chef's Dinner consisted of Egg Roll, Won Ton Soup, Sweet & Sour Pork, Beef w/Snow Peas, BBQ Pork Fried Rice, Tea & Fortune Cookie for two people $9.95/ add 3 people you get Roasted Duck & 4 people you get Prawns w/ Lobster Sauce. We chose two people and it was great. The Sweet and Sour Pork and Beef w/ Snow Peas was excellent. The service was good. We would definitely eat here again in the heart of Chinatown.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Peking Duck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We arrived for dinner to find we were the only non-asians in the restaurant (a very good sign) located in Chinatown. What a fantastic choice! We asked the waitress a couple of questions who had trouble understanding us (we are from Florida) and the owner came right over to assist. We ordered Peking Duck and asked what she would eat if ordering and the owner's recommendation was Salt & Pepper Crab. She did return several minutes later to let us know she had run out of Peking Duck and could she recommend something else. We mentioned we came just for the Peking Duck that evening but would came back the next evening. She excused herself saying she would find a Peking Duck from another restaurant so we wouldn't have to return. Our complete dinner came only minutes later and was perfect. Chung King is now a must every trip to San Francisco. The owner was a delight and we hope she will remember us as we will certainly remember her and her excellent restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

If you want a typical Chinese kind of restaurant to go too, this is the place, from a live lobster tank, to menus written in Chinese on the mirrors, Chung king has it all
Although it's an old fashion Chinese joint, the atmosphere is just to stuffed, tables are really close to each other and 2 waiters for about 20+ tables, this doesn't look so good till now right?
But moving on to the food, it's like you're in china Simply amazing! And the price? You can't beat it. It's a must go for REAL Chinese food

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't go.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Don't go. Food and Service was very poor and they added an 18 % gratuity.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Plain surroundings but but outstanding food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Went here for dinner after reading a review on trip advisor. Non descript chinese restaurant on a street filled with chinese restaurants(606 Jackson St.). Place was packed with mostly chinese diners but we four only waited about 5 minutes.
Started off with hot and sour soup; best I have ever had. Flavor, consistancy, and balance were perfect.
We were visiting from Portugal. In Portugal lobster costs about $60 a pound; here it was $35. I had the lobster. The hostess (Tina) brought the live animal (21/2 lbs) to the table kicking and screaming to demonstrate its freshness. It was perfectly prepared, cracked, and served with a fantastic sauce I could not identify.
My son had the Peking Duck; his favorite. The duck was also perfectly cooked, all the fat rendered away, the skin crisp and flavorful, and the meat juicy and succulent. This was served with small steamed buns rather than pancakes; a different and interesting touch.
Our other guests had equally interesting dishes plus steamed bok choy for a veggie. The rice was freshly prepared; not stale or oversteamed.
That extraordinary meal cost only $150 for 4 with drinks, tea, and a generous tip.

Later that week my son and I returned for lunch. Lunch specials are $5!! I had Kung Bao beef and rice; excellent. More food on the plate than a normal human can eat. Lunch for 2 and a beer and coke... $14.
I mean really; can you beat it?

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chung King Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Chung King Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chung King Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.