We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Sushi, Tiny Little Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akiko's Sushi Bar and Restaurant

Akiko's Sushi Bar and Restaurant
542A Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102 (Downtown)
415-989-8218
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 4,918 restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi, Tiny Little Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I like this place, something neat about only being able to seat 15 people. The sushi is alway fresh and really tasty. The downside is they are often out of various things on the menu, which is frustrating if you have something in mind you want eat that day. The service is pretty prompt.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    61
    33
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Touted best sushi in city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very authentic sushi. Not like your regular sushi restaurant. Must have reservations. Even though they had seats available, they turned down walk-in's. Great quality, but pricey. It was my family's favorite meal. If this is a destination, do make a reservation.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not Good! :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Ton of unwarranted good reviews here. Sadly.

They we're out of a lot do their menu by 8pm, no straws, no ice for the water, and barely any fish in the cut rolls. Eel was terrible, California was t bad though.

Also, no more non sushi by 8pm either...which was a huge bummer for my wife.

May be good prices, but u definitely get what u pay for here...

My advice, go somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMPHIS, TN
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Thank you Trip Advisor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is why I love trip advisor. Here I am in a city that I am not completely familiar with- I want some sushi- I ask my handy Trip Advisor App and, Voila, an hour later I am seated in a lovely, tiny restaurant that I would have never found on my own . Here I am, enjoying world class sushi, excellent service and chatting with locals. The restaurant only seats 13 people- But they take reservations. Go.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great sushi but bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We found this place on tripadvisor and went there because it was close to our hotel and the place had a great score. We were disappointed. The sushi were great. But the waiter was ignoring us in a rude way and pretended he didn't understand our english. And since this a very small place, that didn't feel very comfortable. That is why we never went there again during our three weeks stay in California/San Francisco

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akiko's Sushi Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Akiko's Sushi Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akiko's Sushi Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.