We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast at a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Watch Restaurant

Bay Watch Restaurant
2150 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2713
415-775-9673
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #585 of 4,918 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Californian, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Cathey's Valley, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great breakfast at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed at the Cow Hollow, Bay Watch is in the same building on street level. Great breakfast with large portions at a very inexpensive prices. The banana pancakes were super! For SF, this is unusual to find big portions of good food at low prices. I'd go there every day for breakfast if at the Cow Hollow again. Nice staff, atmosphere isn't the greatest, but you go for food, not something pretty to look at. Warning--don't go to Mel's Diner across the street, terrible prices matched with horrible attitude and poor quality food. Go to Bay Watch, enjoy your breakfast while looking at Mel's across the street.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    19
    16
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A Hearty Start”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Serves breakfast and dinner but closes at 2pm. Based on Lombard Street and facilities are quite good. Seats maximum of 120 in a variety of booths and tables. There is even a small section which is separated from the rest of the restaurant by partitions which make eating in there slightly quieter.
Substantial menu with hearty sized portions at a very reasonable price. Good place to fill up early and miss lunch.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bland, but easy on the wallet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Our hotel recommended this place, and said we would get a 10% discount. Since it was the first day of our San Francisco trip, we opted to try this place. It was "OK", but for cryin' out loud... This is San Francisco... "OK" just isn't gonna cut it. We were there to relax, and enjoy all that the city has to offer. Bland food simply was not going to be an option.

My wife and I were in town for 4 days, and the "Bay Watch" was the worst meal we had. The food was fine, but there are literally dozens of better choices within 3 blocks. Try Rose's Cafe, Judy's Cafe, Paxti's Pizza or Pacific Catch... All four are much better options than Bay Watch.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claresholm, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful meals and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We had breakfast there every day before we would head out. Delicious and very big servings. We had to actually order smaller meals after the first day! Nice friendly staff there as well.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlstonsc
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“very good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

we were going to go to mel's diner (i think a sort of chain in california), but saw this place across the street and decided after reading the menu to go in. we were glad we did. weird seating/ambiance, but who is looking for that when all you want is to eat a good breakfast? and this is what we did. my man had the corned beef hash and eggs over easy and was a happy camper. i had the pancakes...they were ok. should have ordered something else but was not really into eating at the time. great service...they leave a whole pitcher of water on the table, (the pitcher of water had a lemon in it...nice touch), as well as coffee and hot water for tea and so you can refill yourself without looking around for a server. this is good for the morning...yes???!! oh, and the hash browns are very good also. i ate a lot of his! would definately go back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Watch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bay Watch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Watch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.