We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had breakfast there.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roxanne Cafe

Roxanne Cafe
570 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)
(415) 989-5555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #764 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Union Square
Montreal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Had breakfast there.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Located at the corner of Powell and Bush streets, near teh Executive Vintage Court hotel.

This is a very small restaurant. Had over easy eggs and sausage...a little bit too cooked but ok.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    141
    42
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a great place for breakfast in downtown San Fran…
Had breakfast here three times in one week… yes I did.
The portions were perfect, not too big and not too small and for the right price.
If you don’t know, everywhere here is expensive and breakfast should NOT be…
So this was a nice clean place…
The bathroom is very small and could use a good cleaning for my preference.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Nice breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were at the Orchard Hotel and Roxanne cafe is located next block from the hotel. The restaurant is also open for lunch and dinner but we did not try, but they were always people when we pass by to go in and out of the hotel.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We passed Roxanne's several days around lunch, where it was very crowed and it looked like a nice place with an interesting menu - for the same reason we decided to give it a go for dinner one night. Having seen how busy the place was during the day, I was a bit surprised to find it almost empty when we arrived in the evening.

When we hadn't decided what to order the first time the waitress asked, we got to wait a very, very long time. Even though we looked like someone ready to order and the waitress wasn't busy at all. She just seemed uninterested in us in general from we arrived to we left. She also added the 17% "group service charge" to our bill even though we were only the two of us, which for me is unacceptable - especially since she seemed to do it because we hadn't had much service at all during dinner.

The food was okay. My spaghetti meatballs ($15) were a bit uninspiring. My girlfriend said that the lobster ravioli ($19) was pretty good. For the price the food wasn't bad. So if the service was improved it would do a lot for the atmosphere and value of the place.

This place might be better for breakfast or lunch. We often passed it when going back and forth from our hotel - and at these times the place seemed very busy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“typical American quality diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

we had breakfast at Roxanne twice, at a reasonable price ( we paid 14 USD pp), you get a good breakfast (large choice on the menu to choose from), staff are friendly, to American standards, it even had quite nice decoration

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roxanne Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Roxanne Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roxanne Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.