We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gaylord

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gaylord
620 Jones Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fab Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

I stayed here in half term holiday period with 5 girlfriends. The hotel is in a great location, only a few blocks from Union Square reached within 5 minutes walk. We were all put on the 12th floor (this is the highest floor). Rooms had all been decorated recently. (worth noting that hairdryers are now supplied as this is now stated in hotel details). There are adequate kitchenettes in each room with fridges and wine openers! The rooms varied in size. Mine was small but prefectly adequate whilst others had proper suites! There are very good restaurants just a short stroll from the hotel including Chutney's Indian and Dottie's for breakfast (you need to get there very early by 07:30am at latest as queues form very quickly through the whole morning). the reception staff were happy to answer any queries and can given you the directions to anywhere you want to go. If you are going for a week make sure you get a San francisco City Pass. This gives you free transport around SF and at $5 per cable car ride this can add up. It also gives you free entry to lots of the best things to see and do. Do make sure you book your Alcatraz trip in advance not to be missed. Make sure you also book Beach Blanket Babylon!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    34
    20
    5
    12
See reviews for
2
21
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

I have lived at the Gaylord for almost 9 yrs. and I have seen this beautiful building decline. In 2002, it was still a S.F. gem with the friendly vibe that you now must travel to Portland to find. It was an apartment building/community of friendly neighbors, Tuesday pasta nights, Friday happy hours, and Sunday brunches enjoyed by residents from 1 to 94 years old, until a local real estate co. bought the building, harassed 80-85% of the tenants out of the building including two women who were dying of cancer. The real estate co.'s tactics made the front pages of SF newpapers.The new owners also gutted out much of the 1929 Moorish Art Deco and antiques. They replaced real palm plants in the lobby with plastic palms and raised the rate$. The 'renovated' rooms are stark and bland. Courtyard trees have been cut down so that the sirens are even louder and rooms are dustier. The Spanish tile fountain and garden were bulldozed and replaced with asphalt and unpainted grey-concrete German brutalism. Upkeep and cleaning of the building have declined. The friendliness is gone. A bank has taken over the building and we all know how much banks know or care about running a hotel/former apartment building.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Having read the very mixed revews of this place, we arrived with some trepidation. First they tried to give us a room that was midway through renovation and seemed surprised when we refused it. We were then moved to a much nicer room on the 11th floor.

The room is sparsely, but adequately furnished. We were there during a heatwave, so a fan or air-con would have been appreciated, but would not normally be necessary.

The room is only serviced once a week, and by the end of the first week it's pretty dusty and grotty.

The location is excellent for all tourist sites and transport, an while the area to the south of the hotel might look and feel very dodgy, we always felt safe.

Staff were friendly enough, but they don't do anyting other than man the front desk.

If you're looking for a no frills pied a terre in the heart of San Francisco, then this is a great place. Just don't expect to much comfort or service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

A very convenient location, but be careful where you walk. The staff was very unhelpful and not very friendly, except for the guy who manned the front desk at night. I would check to see if you can get a better or same deal elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

this is the worst hotel and let me tell you I have travel a lot, when we got to the hotel at 4:00am the guy at the front desk tells me that there is not reservation and that they also don't have room available, we were not the only ones there was also a lady from Spain also with the same problem I had to call hotels.com to see if they have another hotel I waited over 1 hour on the phone until I decided to look for a hotel myself.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

What I look for in hotels is location and price. The Gaylord was fairly inexpensive and seemed to be in a good location, which is why we chose it. The location was actually pretty good, within walking distance to the center of SF and to some attractions (eg. Crookedest Street). One slight issue with it is the close proximity of it to the dodgy area, but as long as you don't wander off, it's fine. The rooms were clean enough and suited us; we were there to see the city, not the hotel, but if going back to San Francisco I probably would spend a little more money for a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

The Gaylord is where the cast of South Pacific on tour stayed, we lived there for a month. It may look cute, but the staff makes it a terrible place to stay. Not only are they completely inept at handling simple tasks like billing correctly, they are completely rude or just simply clueless when you try to discuss any discrepancies or problems or simply needs like new towels. Getting your mail was even an issue. Oh, and the elevator never worked. Bit of a problem when you are staying on the 12th floor.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gaylord

Address: 620 Jones Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Gaylord Hotel San Francisco
Gaylord San Francisco
Gaylord Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gaylord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Gaylord to your Saves list