We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vitale - beautiful room, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Stunning Waterfront Views
Ranked #29 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canmore, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vitale - beautiful room, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The location of the Vitale is excellent for anyone wanting to take in the waterfront area of San Francisco. Lots of great restaurants in the area within walking distance. The hotel is located on many bike paths that allow for a two wheel exploration of the harbour area as well as extending your ride across the Golden Gate Bridge and into Sausalito. Staff are very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    280
    72
    35
    19
See reviews for
99
431
71
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A perfect place to stay and add to your quintessential SF experience. Bay view rooms are an obvious preference but all the rooms are smartly designed & appointed. Americano restaurant does a great job and the staff is great, especially the amazingly cordial housekeepers!
Hard to beat being able to walk across the street to Ferry Plaza, great location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I like the location of this hotel since I have stayed around Union Square too much in the past and this is right across from the Ferry Plaza which is great. The only thing I can complain about is the pillow which are weird since you get 2 that are paper thin and 2 that are thicker and rock hard. Getting a cab was also a bit harder than other hotels in the area but the rooms are great the hotel is modern and organic and otherwise great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Kevincanada:
Many find that the Embarcadero area is more relaxing than the hustle and bustle of Union Square, while still being close to all downtown San Francisco has to offer. The comfort of our guests is a top priority at Hotel Vitale, and I am disappointed to hear that your pillows did not exceed your expectations. In the future, you are always welcome to contact the front desk and all of our team members are more than happy to find something more to your liking.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend in San Francisco and totally enjoyed the hotel and the trip. The Bart stops at the Embarcadero and this stop is just around the corner. The cable car is a block away and the trolley is right outside.

One of the best things is the roof patios on floor 5 or 7! We took a bottle of wine upstairs and enjoyed the sunset.

All the people were very nice and we would definitely stay here on our next trip to San Francisco!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
JoAnn:
It is wonderful when guests are able to utilize our many public transportation options nearby. It is so much more convenient, especially if you are on a short visit, to not have to worry about a car. We always like to encourage our guests to take advantage of the sights from our very special terraces. The view of the Bay Bridge is breathtaking—especially at night. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel was fabulous. Excellent service, great restaurant and beautiful room. The location was perfct, directly accross from the Ferry Building and around the corner from the F line bus. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: ask for the view of the bay, otherwise you may be looking at AC vents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Peggy1954:
I am so flattered that you thought of us for you “Girls Weekend” and happy to hear that you had a lovely time here. You simply must visit our spa on your next trip for “The San Francisco Treat”, a food and leg massage perfect for re-energizing after a long day of exploring or shopping in the city with the girls!

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great room, great service, nice location. Everything was perfect. The view is great. Near the market. My husband and I had a great time. The resto./ bar is very trendy and popular especially on Fridays nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Sophie G:
Thank you for your kind words, the team here at Vitale will be so glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable. If you liked Americano, you and your husband should be sure to try a side-by-side massage at the spa on your next visit to round out your Hotel Vitale experience.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Fell into the Hotel Vitale the first time driving from LA back home to Seattle. Having lived in SF I wanted to be close to downtown and the ferry building, and Hotel Vitale is perfect. Damn, what a great place. Second time, flew down from Seattle to reunite with old friends, even better, as I used their spa 3 times! (The best, I mean BEST hangover cure in the world is their bath ritual outdoors under the sky surrounded by bamboo, and then the "stressbuster" massage).

Anyway, the staff, the bar, the room, housekeeping; all superb. I've stayed around the world, from 5 star to no star and I want a Hotel Vitale everywhere I travel from now on.

Keep up the great work all, I'm a keeper.

MKMonroe
Mercer Island, WA

Room Tip: Stayed in an inside room the first time, it was great. I stayed in a water view room the second tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Mark M:
It is always especially flattering when a former Bay Area native chooses to stay with us and we enjoy being in such a prime location across the street from the Ferry Building. I am glad to hear that Spa Vitale exceeded your expectations and you should be sure to try our Warm Bamboo Renewal on your next visit. While I unfortunately cannot promise you a Hotel Vitale wherever you go, I do suggest looking into some of our other JDV Collection properties as well. In fact, we recently added the Coconut Waikiki Hotel in Honolulu to our growing collection of boutique hotels.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.