We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel on the Embarcadero” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel on the Embarcadero”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great hotel. We stayed in a room with a Bay view on America's Cup weekend. Hotel has two good decks on 5th and 7th floors with spectacular views. Good location across the street fom Boulevard and near Ferry Building. Rooms are comfortable and reasonably large.

Room Tip: Water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Bart W:
We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at Hotel Vitale and took advantage our terraces—the views are great for watching boats on the bay. If you enjoyed Boulevard and the Ferry Building, be sure to try Americano on your next visit. Chef Kory updates the menu regularly with organic ingredients fresh from the Ferry building across the street. One of our latest seasonal additions is spaghetti with Half Moon Bay Dungeness crab, jalapeno, and lime.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    264
    70
    35
    18
See reviews for
96
421
67
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port St. Lucie, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What an unexpected gem in one of the most FUN cities in the US. Ask for a CORNER room and you'll find a magnificent bathtub in the main room, along with a luxury sitting area where you can stare out at the bay.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room for a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Zipporahs:
I am so glad that you found us and you are right, we are very fortunate to be in such a vibrant city! If you enjoyed the bathtub in your room, be sure to try Spa Vitale on your next visit. In addition to an entire menu of spa treatments, we have a bathing ritual that takes place in out infinity soaking tubs on one of the rooftop terraces.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband & I live in London but are originally from SF. My hubby works for a tech firm in SF so we stayed at the Vitale for 16 nights while he was on business and I was visiting friends & family. The hotel is trendy, buzzy and right across Embarcadero from the amazing Ferry Building. As we were staying for so long I had requested a spacious room with some natural daylight as it was home for a few weeks. Our room was a bit small but on the 6th floor with lots of light and a sideways view of the Bay Bridge. The first night we had a welcome home earthquake but it was just a medium one so we shook around for a bit then went back to sleep. The room service staff were a bit amiss as most things took a few attempts to get, but we got there in the end. The restaurant was overpriced and there are better restaurants in the area. Gary at concierge was really nice and the valets were great. We loved the cocktail hour at the hotel for both good people watching and also a place to invite friends to hang out. Overall it was a very good experience, though a bit laid back and probably could have been a little bit better for the price.

Room Tip: Get a bay front room with a view on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
LondonTownYank:
Welcome back to San Francisco! It is always nice to visit somewhere that you are familiar with the neighborhoods and how to get around. We are fortunate to be located in an area that is so central and has those marvelous bay views. I appreciate your feedback regarding our room service and will communicate it to the team. I invite you to try us again; our culinary team takes great pride in their cuisine and uses 80% of our produce from the Ferry Building. We are even more honored to have amazing concierges that are committed to create a unique and memorable experience for every guest.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Spent 5 days here and when you've got a view of the port of San Francisco, you're on to a winner. The bar was full most nights with "beautiful people" so I presume it must be one of the more fashionable places to hangout. The mini bar came with a cannister of air (so Californian). Pricey but enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Claudiop73:
I am pleased to hear that you were able to spend so much time with us and enjoy both Hotel Vitale and Americano Restaurant. The canister of oxygen is one of our unique amenities for guests to recover from jetlag or reenergize before a meeting. We are grateful to have guests as loyal as yourself, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Francisco!


Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great service throughout. Very helpful concierge. We had booked a Bay view room but were initially allocated a side room - this was quickly corrected as soon as we brought it to their attention but we were a bit disappouinted that they had failed to read what was on the booking form. The view from the 7th floor room out to the Bay bridge was definately worth the effort. Nice large clean room. Mini bar prices not quite as high as other places we have been but still pricey. The price of the valet parking here is outrageous but parking through out the city is expensive especially overnight 24hr rates so we still went for it. On site Americano restaurant was good. Hotel location generally excellent especially for Ferry Building bars etc. Shame the spa was not free for guests as it was too expensive to try.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Jeff_SurreyUK:
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the service from our concierge, we are so fortunate to work with such a wonderful team here at the Vitale. It is superb that you stayed in a waterfront room, watching boats going by in the bay is a great way to relax and enjoy the hotel. Our room service is also provided by Americano, so next time you can have the option enjoy the view from your room during your meal or join us in the dining room.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Like many travelers, we chose this hotel because of it's location, across from the ferry building with its amazing array of food and other treats. The hotel is pricey -- on par with the Four Seasons and other top hotels. We reserved a room with a water view, and were looking forward to a lovely weekend stay. When we arrived, the bellman showed us our room, which looked out on an industrial rooftop. The "water view" was visible when standing inches from the window, and peering west. We politely told the bellman that we were interested in exploring other room options, and we called the front desk. We were put on hold, and theyoung bellman stood in obvious irritation. The wait continued for several minutes (this turned out to be a persistent problem during our stay -- nearly impossible to reach the front desk). Finally the bellman said, "I have to go," and left us. At no point did he offer to assist. We felt foolish and abandoned -- not the way one wants to feel at the start of a stay at a luxury hotel. My husband went down to the front desk, and was able to secure a room with a real water view, at a higher price. The view was extraordinary, and the room was sweet, though one windowed wall looked out on a public terrace, meaning that we had to keep the blinds closed. The rest of our stay was uneventful. Staff was nice enough, but the overall feeling was not "great to have you here," but rather, "you are lucky to be here." The room service was excellent, and the valet went to great lengths to ensure that we made it to a dinner during a high-traffic time of day. But our short stay was marred by the unfortunate "first contact," and I'm not sure that I would return. Though the memory of the extraordinary view of San Francisco Bay and the Bay Bridge will long be in my memories.

Room Tip: Make sure that if you want a water view that you are clear on your expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitaleSanFrancisco, Director of Rooms at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback!
We pride ourselves on providing warm and exemplary service to each and every one of our guest. We clearly missed the mark in this case. I apologize on behalf of my team for the service mishap.
It is through constructive criticism, such as this that you have provided, that enables us to improve upon our future guest’s experience. Thank you for providing this opportunity.

I was happy to hear that you so enjoyed or fantastic views of the San Francisco Bay and the Bay Bridge and I agree, the view is extraordinary!

Sincerely,

Dan Burgess
Director of Rooms
Hotel Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hotel Vitale is a great hotel down on the Embarcadero area. Can't beat the location, can walk to the Ferry building and there are great places to eat and drink near by. Their bar is the hot spot on Thursday and Friday and if you want to avoid the crowds and hotels in Union square, this is the spot.

Room Tip: The beds are very comfortable and have turn down service. The rooms are not large, but if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Mike G:
It sounds as if you enjoyed exploring our surrounding neighborhood. It is fantastic that you were able to experience the Ferry Building—they have everything a foodie could wish for—as does Americano. It is not only a happening hotspot; our chef uses a quite a few items from the ferry building to create his menu. Be sure to check back as we update our menu regularly and are constantly creating new and seasonally inspired dishes—including one of our newest desserts: the Butternut Squash and Brown Butter Tart, a must try!

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.