We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Exton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great hotel with a convenient location in the financial district. Bed was so comfortable was amazing.
I loved the warm hand towel upon arrival also. The roof top lounge chairs are super comfortable and its nice to watch the bridge as the fog burns away. Also the ferry building is straight across the street.

Room Tip: Chose a room facing the bridge the view is amazing. I was in 532 and the view was directly across f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
megan s:
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our guest rooms; we do strive to create an experience that is both relaxing and revitalizing. Our rooftop terraces are wonderful for taking in the view—we also have infinity soaking tubs on our spa terrace that you should be sure to ask the concierge about for your next stay.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    517
    251
    62
    31
    16
See reviews for
84
383
63
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have stayed at the Vitale a number of times when returning to SF on business and although I keep on returning I can't quite work out why!?

The location is definitely the major plus...right opposite the Ferry Building and great for a walk along the Embarcadero after arriving off the plane.... $2 on the F Tram to Union Square or Fishermans Wharf. The views are also good if you get them with your room (but not so good I would pay more for). The staff are excellent and the welcome from the reception staff is always warm and genuine - in fact all the staff I have ever come into contact with have been good.

The rooms are OK for this level of hotel and price point - comfortable, good temperature, quiet, free internet, reasonable toiletries and comfortable beds. Some of my colleagues particularly like the muted and calming colours - fern greens, browns etc but I prefer a bit more vibrancy. Bathroom is OK but both the plug arrangements in the bath and basin would not hold water this time. Minor niggles are the small ironing board (OK, so at least there is one and the plus is an iron that doesn't deposit water on the garment when on steam) and a ton of junk on the desk which I clear away so I can work and which reappears every time the room is cleaned.

The restaurant is fine and if you want a change there are lots of good eating places nearby. I've never found the upstairs deck area some others have found, and it would be really nice to have a bar where guests can relax without having to compete with the local 'after work crowd'.

So I'll probably be back next time....the Vitale works but I just don't get the 'wow' that other reviewers clearly get.

Room Tip: Go for a bay view if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
skoyen89:
I am glad to hear that you received such excellent service, we are very proud of our team here at Hotel Vitale. It is also wonderful that you enjoyed our location; it is quite lovely to be able to go for a stroll along the waterfront, or explore the surrounding restaurants and shops. One of our guiding philosophies is “Luxury, Naturally” and our atmosphere and décor follows along those lines. My apologies that you experienced difficulties with the basin plug, in the future be sure to contact the front desk and will be more than happy to send someone to assist. Our rooftop terraces go from the fifth to the eighth floors and are accessible from the guest hallways. You are also welcome to order room service from Americano to the terraces and enjoy the view while you eat.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had really wanted to stay in Ghirardelli but found the cost prohibitive. The Vitale was our second choice- but we were ultimately glad we stayed there. Hotels in San Francisco are pretty expensive no matter where you stay
We stayed Wednesday - Saturday and found the bar/beer garden to be buzzing from 4.30 every day with the finance workers from the district. I really enjoyed the people watching.
The hotel was close to the Stuert Street tram line and the tourist hop-on-hop-off bus.
Fisherman's Wharf was about a mile away and a nice walk along the waterfront.(passing the dock to Alcatraz along the way) Excellent views of the Bay Bridge. The food in the Americano was excellent for both breakfast and dinner.We were glad we stayed here

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor in a bat view suite. We couldn't hear the people partying on the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Heather M:
I am glad to hear that you decided to stay with us at the Hotel Vitale on your San Francisco trip. Americano is always a good choice for hotel guests and locals alike, and you are right: it is especially bustling during happy hour! Americano uses local, organic and seasonal ingredients for the freshest flavors. I hope you had the opportunity to indulge in dessert—the Chocolate Budino with salted caramel is unbelievable!

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Vitale for the first time last month and just loved it. After staying at The Fairmont and four different hotels in Union Square, I finally found the one. My room had a beautiful view and was extremely comfortable. The staff was very helpful. The size of the hotel is just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
NewYorkDeborah:
I am glad to hear that you are a new Hotel Vitale regular guest! It is so lovely that you appreciate the boutique size of the hotel; it enables us to give each guest the specialized attention they deserve. As a new regular, we recommend you sign up for Joy of Life Club to earn points and receive exclusive rewards during your stays, which can be redeemed for hotel stays and one-of-a-kind adventures.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here to take in the Fleet Week festivities the weekend of October 5-7. Room 814 - bayview. It was a stunning view of the bay and bay bridge and Ferry Building. Just down the hallway was an outdoor terrace with nice lounge furniture overlooking the same stunning views. The weather was absolutely perfect. Great customer service the moment we stepped out of the car. We arrived early and our room was not quite ready so we had lunch across the street at the famous Ferry Building. They called shortly and said our room was ready, luggage already delivered including some items we had left in the car by accident. We watched the practice airshow on Friday from the outdoor terrace. Absolutely amazing! The other thing we liked about this hotel is the location. Being in the Embarcadero area, it is a bit quieter than the mayhem down at Fisherman's Wharf. We walked to the Ghiradelli Square lawn to watch the Blue Angels airshow on Saturday. This location is considered the air show center as most of the air show acts are centered on this location. Although this about 2 miles from the hotel, we found it an easy walk along the waterfront of San Francisco.

Room service and the hotel restaurant, Americano, was also up to the standards of this fine hotel. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Bayview rooms are a must. 7th or 8th floor has access to terrace without using elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Southpawfam:
It is so nice that you were able to take advantage of our terraces for the Fleet Week practice air show! And strolling along the Embarcadero to Ghirardelli square sounds considerably more enjoyable than fighting all the festival traffic. It is also good to hear that you enjoyed the cuisine at Americano, next time you will have to try Spa Vitale to complete the package! Glad we could be a part of wonderful weekend in the city.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for business a few times in 2011. It was pretty $$$, but the location was great, right off Embarcadero, and I always had a view of the Bay Bridge, which was great. Good size room, good shower, comfortable bed, really good restaurant in the hotel - overall very impressed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Luke C:
Our location is very convenient for doing business in downtown San Francisco, especially the Financial District. If you haven’t already been, our restaurant Americano also has amazing views of the Bay Bridge from the patio dining area. It is especially nice this time of year with the late San Francisco summers, and still enjoyable in the winter due to our addition of a lovely outdoor tent.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked one night at the Hotel Vitale, Deluxe Waterfront King, room for 500/night. It did have a nice view, but just one little window and definitely didnt seem to be anything more than just a standard room which was priced at 300/night. If you plan on staying here, I wouldnt spend any additional money on upgraded room. I would have opted for the Mandarin Oriental with views of both bridges for roughly the same cost!
Pros: Good location, proximity to the Ferry Building was nice. Restaurant Americano was pretty good, decent service at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
oliverd1:
The waterfront rooms are always a good decision, and if the view from there is not as much as you had hoped, the rooftop terraces offer amazing views of the Embarcadero and bay. Many of our ingredients at Americano are provided by the Ferry building vendors, which allows us to use the freshest local and organic produce possible.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.