We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Stunning Waterfront Views
Ranked #29 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Vitale for the first time last month and just loved it. After staying at The Fairmont and four different hotels in Union Square, I finally found the one. My room had a beautiful view and was extremely comfortable. The staff was very helpful. The size of the hotel is just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
NewYorkDeborah:
I am glad to hear that you are a new Hotel Vitale regular guest! It is so lovely that you appreciate the boutique size of the hotel; it enables us to give each guest the specialized attention they deserve. As a new regular, we recommend you sign up for Joy of Life Club to earn points and receive exclusive rewards during your stays, which can be redeemed for hotel stays and one-of-a-kind adventures.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    280
    72
    35
    19
See reviews for
100
431
71
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here to take in the Fleet Week festivities the weekend of October 5-7. Room 814 - bayview. It was a stunning view of the bay and bay bridge and Ferry Building. Just down the hallway was an outdoor terrace with nice lounge furniture overlooking the same stunning views. The weather was absolutely perfect. Great customer service the moment we stepped out of the car. We arrived early and our room was not quite ready so we had lunch across the street at the famous Ferry Building. They called shortly and said our room was ready, luggage already delivered including some items we had left in the car by accident. We watched the practice airshow on Friday from the outdoor terrace. Absolutely amazing! The other thing we liked about this hotel is the location. Being in the Embarcadero area, it is a bit quieter than the mayhem down at Fisherman's Wharf. We walked to the Ghiradelli Square lawn to watch the Blue Angels airshow on Saturday. This location is considered the air show center as most of the air show acts are centered on this location. Although this about 2 miles from the hotel, we found it an easy walk along the waterfront of San Francisco.

Room service and the hotel restaurant, Americano, was also up to the standards of this fine hotel. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Bayview rooms are a must. 7th or 8th floor has access to terrace without using elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Southpawfam:
It is so nice that you were able to take advantage of our terraces for the Fleet Week practice air show! And strolling along the Embarcadero to Ghirardelli square sounds considerably more enjoyable than fighting all the festival traffic. It is also good to hear that you enjoyed the cuisine at Americano, next time you will have to try Spa Vitale to complete the package! Glad we could be a part of wonderful weekend in the city.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for business a few times in 2011. It was pretty $$$, but the location was great, right off Embarcadero, and I always had a view of the Bay Bridge, which was great. Good size room, good shower, comfortable bed, really good restaurant in the hotel - overall very impressed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Luke C:
Our location is very convenient for doing business in downtown San Francisco, especially the Financial District. If you haven’t already been, our restaurant Americano also has amazing views of the Bay Bridge from the patio dining area. It is especially nice this time of year with the late San Francisco summers, and still enjoyable in the winter due to our addition of a lovely outdoor tent.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked one night at the Hotel Vitale, Deluxe Waterfront King, room for 500/night. It did have a nice view, but just one little window and definitely didnt seem to be anything more than just a standard room which was priced at 300/night. If you plan on staying here, I wouldnt spend any additional money on upgraded room. I would have opted for the Mandarin Oriental with views of both bridges for roughly the same cost!
Pros: Good location, proximity to the Ferry Building was nice. Restaurant Americano was pretty good, decent service at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
oliverd1:
The waterfront rooms are always a good decision, and if the view from there is not as much as you had hoped, the rooftop terraces offer amazing views of the Embarcadero and bay. Many of our ingredients at Americano are provided by the Ferry building vendors, which allows us to use the freshest local and organic produce possible.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Thanks to this stay, the Joie de Vivre hotel chain is my new must-stay for USA. Blissful form beginning to end, and could not have been more different from the colour pop W Hotel in downtown where i spent the previous week.
We ended our SF trip here, following time out in Yosemite and the setting, decor and staff approach were the perfect calm and tranquility we needed. Even better, the amazing staff upgraded us to a waterfront room with the most spectacular view of the Ferry Building and the bay bridge.
Located right on the start of Embarcadero, Vitale is perfecly located for walk or street car and a few blocks away from catching a cable car.
Amazing roof top terraces to relax with a drink and take in the view, and a spa.
Dining is excellent, great good in a very cool hang out.
The absolute quirkiest of mini bars, including canned oxygen! Free wifi, adds the cherry to the cake.

Room Tip: Waterfront, for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
PandoraSkies:
I am so glad to hear that your stay was calming; we do strive to create an environment in which our guests can relax and explore San Francisco at their leisure. The rooftop terraces are a great way to enjoy the city without having to be amongst the hustle and bustle.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Vitale Hotel Review

Location:
It is located in the Embarcadero area, which has many pluses. One of them is the proximity to the Ferry Building where you can find many great restaurants and gourmet shops. During weekends, there is a Farmer’s Market, which is not to be missed.

Common Areas:

The lobby is quite modern and minimally decorated. There are sofas where one can lounge. On the same level is the bar/restaurant. The bar is quite a happening spot at night. Very popular with the local people. This bar also functions as the restaurant for breakfast. Supposedly there is a small gym but did not try that out so cannot comment. Front desk did mention that they give passes for guests to use the YMCA facility, which is nearby.


Room:

It is decorated in muted colors. Everything works well. Bed is big and comfortable. For a hotel of this category, no issues except the towels. The towels are rough on the skin. They are almost like sandpaper. Storage/closet space is tiny. Toiletries come in big sizes and work rather well. Bathroom is spacious and well laid out.

Service:

The front desk was quick during the check in. Concierge also did a great job trying to secure a dinner reservation. Also had breakfast there one morning; the service was adequate. Did not like the food there too much. It was pretty generic from presentation to taste. For a $30 (tax and tip included) breakfast for one person, I expect something more creative.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Taps1:
The location of Hotel Vitale is remarkably convenient to the Financial District, Ferry Building, Market Street corridor, and so much more. As mentioned, the central location does limit us with occasional traffic noise and tall office buildings across the street. On your next stay, be sure to try a waterfront room, the street noise is next to none and there are exceptional views of the water and Bay Bridge!

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our last minute weekend getaway could not have been better. We snatched up a same-day deal online and thought we might get a room over the dumpster. To the contrary, we received hot towels on check in AND got a room upgrade! We would have had a bay view except for a wedding next door- which was downright civilized of him to tell us this in advance! The downside was only that the roof view and spa was closed for a private party- which is apparently very common. Also, no pool. Hot tub is only available when you book a spa treatment.
The Ferry Building (artisan food, independent bookstore etc) is across the street. The light industrial pier centered neighborhood is very walkable and on the water. Breakfast at the restaurant was delicious. Local food, fresh eggs, local SF sourdough bread. I went light: yogurt, fruit, housemade granola. Husband went full carnivore. Both were delicious- and we are tough food critics. Coffee, free local paper, view of the bay.
Summery: we are hard to please and we came home and booked our anniversary three months out right away. Five stars.

Room Tip: -Street view rooms still have a good view of SF. -Check A/C and Heat before going to bed. -If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
MonarchX:
Those last minute getaways do usually turn out to be surprisingly wonderful, don’t they? We do offer day passes to the Embarcadero YMCA (which is just one block away) for your pool and jacuzzi needs, so be sure to ask at the front desk next time. I am glad to hear that you tried the breakfast at Americano, the menu is locally and seasonally inspired and many of our ingredients come straight from the Ferry Building vendors. Be sure to try a side-by-side massage at Spa Vitale to celebrate your anniversary during your next stay!

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.