We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Chalet

Park Chalet
1000 Great Hwy, San Francisco, CA 94121 (Golden Gate Park)
(415) 386-8439
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Park Chalet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,882 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Golden Gate Park
Cross street: Lincoln & Fulton Sts.
Sacramento, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Given its location, this place is going to be hopping on most weekends. We stopped in without reservations on a Saturday afternoon. It was breezy and cool, so sitting outside wasn't really an option. The host said there was a wait, but then offered to give me the table from a reservation that no-showed if I was willing to give the missing party 10 more minutes to arrive. They flaked and we scored their seats. I really appreciated the host's willingness to work us in, especially since we had three kids in our party.

The food was good. My husband described the fish and chips as the best he's ever had. Our server was attentive. We will definitely go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    18
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Only redeeming quality? The cocktail.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

So their bartender can mix a decent cocktail. But the service was non-existent and, when we did get service, it was downright rude. I've never actually encountered a restaurant where every server cared less about their guests...first time for everything. Took more than 30 minutes to get a cocktail. We never stayed long enough to order food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“couldn't get served so left!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Well! this has to top it all - gorgeous day along Ocean Beach so we thought it would be just perfect to eat outside in the April sunshine. Unlike European cities San Francisco is not good at providing outside eating venues so the Park Chalet has something special to exploit. However having joined a line of about 6 people waiting to put their order in at the bar we stood for about 20 minutes and there was no progress. It seemed that the staff were too busy socialising with each other to pay any attention to the needs of mere customers so we had to give up and move to the restaurant at the front of the building the 'Beach House Chalet'.

The setting is lovely and the restaurant is light and airy but not much good when you can't get served!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Did what we needed it to do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here before walking back through Golden Gate Park. The service was quick and the staff were very friendly, and the food was fairly average. We just had a quick burger and chips, them went on our way.

It's fine if you just want a quick place to refuel, but I wouldn't go here for a 'proper' dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This place needs Gordon Ramsey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It's such a shame that this beautiful building in a world-class setting has such a terrible restaurant. We can take the slow service, but the actual food is not good. It's very very expensive and is bad. Go for drinks and the park views; if you must eat, try the fish and chips or the burger. Everything else is inedible. Be prepared to wait an hour for food - we did both times. Someone needs to manage this place correctly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Chalet also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Park Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.