We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mayflower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mayflower to your Saves list
Hotel Mayflower
975 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Gem in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at this SF gem. Nice size room (paid for deluxe) very clean, outstanding customer service and great breakfast options. Love the charm of the hotel. Great Wifi in our room and a nice market next door with a wide selection of items as well as a deli. Computers set up for use as well as printer for boarding passes. Any question were met with a courteous reply. Good location for exploring the city. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: room on high floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    394
    79
    11
    6
See reviews for
197
316
53
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great location, building, and room. The room is on the small side, but the price more than makes up for that! Extremely clean, good breakfast, great service, great atmosphere. Loved the old elevator! I will definitely be back to this little gem the next time I'm in San Francisco. You won't find this kind of charm and character at a chain hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The location was good, walking distance to Union square and access to local shops/ restaurants and bars.
if you're feeling fit you can also walk to fishermans wharf from here, the hills make it hard work but it is enjoyable. amazing views.
Our room was really nice, good size, comfy bed, great view from the 6th floor overlooking the city.
Breakfast also included, its just toast, cereal etc... but its good for what you're paying. Fridge and Microwave also included in room as well as ample storage space for clothes/ luggage.
The staff were really helpful and helped in arranging airport shuttles and holiding our luggage.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again.... if I were to come back to SanFrancisco.

unfortunately, I probably won't be. there are some beautiful parts of this city but there is definitely a homeless problem here and its extremely offputting. I get the feeling that if you walk in to the wrong area you could be in trouble as there are some less than desirable characters just hanging around, and the homeless people seem to be on the corners of most junctions begging in the touristy areas, they can be quite intimidating especiially later at night when there less people around.
Just be on your guard walking around and ignore anyone that may start talking to you.

Room Tip: 6th floor city view if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I love it. Clean, convenient, comfy and tons of character. We have stayed several times and it will continue to be our first choice when in SF. The staff has always been pleasant and a great resource. They always steer us in the right direction for an interesting and enjoyable dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here for a week on business. The Mayflower is a great deal for its location. The neighborhood is fine and the staff was knowledgeable & friendly. Beds seem a bit soft. Pretty tiled bathrooms. Enormous closet was awesome. Separate sink and counter away from bathroom, + microwave & refrigerator. I didn't try the breakfast since I got breakfast at the expensive other hotel where my meetings were held. Public transit & lots of restaurants are very close. There's a little grocery store next store. I had stayed here before with wife & kids, & will return again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hotel is located conveniently close enough to the main tourist attractions. It's approx. a 8 mins walk to Powell St. Metro station (shopping and airport train) and 20-25 mins to Pier 39. The steep hills make distances feel longer. The hotel itself has an old fashioned historic feeling to it. It's very clean, rustic and neat while also very basic. Don't expect any extra frills. The room was a bit chilly on arrival but luckily found the heating system near the floor. Room furnishing was simple but sufficient enough for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was included consisting of a basic choice of toast/bagels, juice, coffee and cheese. Enough to get you going in the morning. Check-in staff was warm and helpful. Can recommend for the great location, tidiness and affordability compared to price level at other hotels in the vicinity. Rooms towards the street on lower levels (Bush St.) are somewhat noisy due to traffic. All in all a 3,5 / 5 rating.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the street on lower levels (Bush St.) are somewhat noisy due to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My preferred "boutique hotel" in Union Square was sold out, so after some research I read about the Hotel Mayflower. This nice hotel is three blocks from Powell Street, but still conveniently located, if a bit of a walk. Our room was clean, the beds were very comfortable and the water spray in the shower was good and strong (my pet peeve in some hotels). Our room had a walk- in closet and another closet too. Wasted space kind of, but hey! It's a quirky hotel that harkens back to an earlier time. When it opened it was heralded as a model of high quality hotel accommodations - you can read that newspaper story as you walk to the breakfast room. Yes, breakfast is provided free with the room. It's not a lavish spread, but breads and butter/jelly, rolled meat, cheese, cookies, muffins, orange juice, coffee, tea, etc. No hot cooked foods, but it's enough to get you through the morning before you spend a lot of money for a wonderful San Francisco dinner. But if you are on a budget, our room had a microwave as well as dishes and silverware if budget requires that you reheat Chinese or other food in your room. When we were there many rooms on our floor were being newly carpeted, so there is an ongoing effort to keep the old hotel up. The elevators alone set this hotel apart - the old fashioned type with a gate that closes before you see the doors of each floor pass by as you rise to your floor. There is artistic stenciling throughout the hotel and each room. Rooms have a theme, with artwork stenciled/painted on the room wall. No "hotel" artwork here, original stuff and very unique and attractive. Staff was very helpful, everyone, but especially the nice blonde lady at the front desk in the morning. So, now you've read this far, would I stay here again. Yes. And you should too, at least once. It's a throwback to an earlier age. You make the call.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayflower

Address: 975 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Mayflower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel San Francisco
Mayflower San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mayflower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.