We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than adequate price, quality, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mayflower

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mayflower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mayflower
975 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More than adequate price, quality, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great deal! This place is definitely centrally located for walking San Francisco, grabbing one of the sightseeing busses, or getting to the BART. It is technically downtown, but on the edge of Knob Hill. We walked to and from the BART, Union Square, and actually from Fisherman's Wharf one day. The hotel has a historic feel to it, with the old fashioned elevator and lobby open to the overlooking balcony upstairs. The surprise came when they opened the lobby doors to the breakfast room. It's comprehensive enough, and complimentary. Yogurt, cereal and hard-boiled eggs, pastry and bagels. The coffee is good. The room itself was clean and open - and the kitchenette came in handy when we ordered a pizza and needed plates and silverware, plus refrigerator, and it was very clean as well. Other reviewers who complained of a cold-seeming staff, but I would say more quirky than cold, if you reach out to them.

Room Tip: We chose to pay $10 extra for the premier deluxe room, amounting to a better view out the window - o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    317
    65
    11
    6
See reviews for
165
257
48
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at the Mayflower in a Deluxe room in July 13. We had a nice view as we were located at the 5th floor. The room was quiet as we were located at the back of the hotel. We were positively surprised by the good size of the room and the brand new furnitures without mentioning a very comfortable king bed. 2 elevators available. The only cons to us was the breakfast which was pretty basic and served in a charmless room however we always find a table to seat. All in all, 150 USD per night during summer for such a nice room in this area was definitely a real bargain. We will definitely come back again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

As all the other reviews suggest the Mayflower is a very good standard for the price. We paid $166 Australian a night. For that we got two double beds in the room a small kitchen, small bathroom and a simple breakfast. I really loved the fact that we could open the windows and breathe real air. The Mayflower is right in town and near a hospital so there are a lot of night noises ( including sirens). We were at the back of the hotel but it is still noisy. The front desk staff are very helpful - especially Targory and Nancye. San Francisco is a fantastic city with many things to do. You can master the transport system very easily. I would recommend the 3 day train/ tram pass.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

the hotel is in an excellent location we walked from it to all the major sites, Lombard Street, Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square. The area felt safe. one reason for booking the hotel was its car park but it was full and our hire care would not have fitted down the drive anyway. there are parking garages all in close proximity but they cost $26 a day. The room was very dated and on first impression we questioned whether we should stay but persevered and actually it was clan and comfortable and perfectly adequate. the hotel was reasonable value for money and the staff were quite helpful. we checked out a day early as we felt we had seen all we wanted to of San Francisco and the staff were very accommodating refunding the cost. All the rooms are noisy its San Francisco.

Room Tip: All the rooms are noisy its San Francisco
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH CAROLINA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night in june on a stop over on our way to Maui.
Got a room for $100 for the night I made advance reservations their reservation system is pretty old school no online reservations you call or email them. I called they also don't get a cc number to hold your reservation which I found interesting. The person I talked to on the phone and ealt with at the front desk were all very nice.
Our room was decent size we just had a standard room it had a small galley kitchen area with fridge and microwave which I thought was nice. Bathroom was small but clean and good enough.
I thought the room was very clean so pleased with that.
They offer a complimentary continental breakfast which included hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, bread for toast, cheese and peanut butter and good coffee over all a very good value.
I would stay here again no hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was my second stay here, and I'm coming back.

As two years ago, the staff was friendly and helpfull. I got a nice quiet room from the backside. The room had more storage space than anyone traveler could use. Bathroom was excellent etc.

Only problem was with the internet connection, which dropped now and then.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Mayflower Hotel still keeping some of it's rustic environment gives a flashback of how San Francisco was like back in the 50's. The price was reasonable and 10 mins walk to the Union Square, Chinatown and was pretty convenient accessing to some of the smaller grocery stores around. We had a family room to sleep 4, it was clean albeit small.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayflower

Address: 975 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Mayflower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel San Francisco
Mayflower San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mayflower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.