We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mayflower

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mayflower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mayflower
975 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

An easy to reach hotel, whether coming by car or other means. Staff on reception always happy to give advice on trips and other facts about the city. We stayed on 3rd floor towards the back. Hardly any noises, so slept well. Our double double room, was clean and tidy ensuite could do with an update but was clean. Hotel has an extremely small underground car park which is always full. Was recommended to park around the corner at a valet garage on Leavenworth, but fairly costly. On second day we found a cheaper as alternative a few more blocks down Bush Street. Breakfast a simple as affair of toast and coffee. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    321
    65
    11
    6
See reviews for
169
257
48
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Loved The Mayflower & can't really fault it. The location is a few blocks from Union Square & Chinatown which is fantastic. The hotel offers FREE car parking if you let them know when you make your reservation. Be careful if you have anything other than a compact as it is tight in there! But, it will save you at least $40 a day so well worth it. The front staff were very friendly & offered help & advice when asked; I was given an excellent running route. I would absolutely recommend it & would stay here again if I was ever to return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had stayed here 6 years ago with our 2 kids and it really was a great choice back then so decided to do so again. It still was! The room we had was a corner room on the 3rd floor with a full size and a trundle twin bed. The hotel is truly unique in many ways. The beautiful hand-painted murals are very charming, as is the super old elevator. Our room was clean; but the bathroom, though clean was pretty sketch with cracked tiles and a "remove only by owner" sticker still on the toilet (obviously from a remodel, but come on...). Front desk was a mixed bag. Charlie was not too personable, but everyone else was. Our room was always clean and we were left with fresh towels each day. The value (we only paid $145 a night) and location are wonderful. When parking is included (yes, the garage is small, but a standard sized car fits just fine) and breakfast, too (don't complain when it is totally free for this price!!) and you are in the heart of San Fran (just minutes to walk to many locations cable cars, Union Square, and yes, the Tenderloin). We would stay again. Oh yes, the reservation you make will be only via the phone; they don't even take your credit card number to secure it...I did call ahead to confirm and all was fine...pretty sure they write it in a notebook and they will hand write you a receipt.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Think European two or three star hotel. Quaint lobby, old, unique elevators, narrow hallways, small rooms, no AC. This hotel is a great find and value (for San Francisco). Good location near Union Square and public transportation. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Our room had a wet bar with microwave and frig. We paid extra for a view, but I don't think it's worth the extra charge. There's not much to view in the area. I did have one complaint about the continental breakfast. It was adequate, but they kept bringing out the same stale muffins day after day. They did the same with old apples- the only fruit offered. They need to refresh their inventory daily, but we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

really nice hotel, lots of charm, very helpful staff and really clean, good location although its not that far from the tenderlion bad area few blocks but far enough away. they tell you to say clear as well you should, we drove through it on arriving and its not pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

stayed 5 nights here on our second leg of west coast tour...first time in san fran ... was very impressed by friendly welcome and was very helpful with general information about the city..our room top floor good views over city ....very comfortable and quiet room..had all essentials ..if want hair dryer ask reception u get free of charge...no kettle but just boil tea or coffee in microwave no problem....store next door for all your drink needs..beds very comfy and was very quiet at night...all in all excellent hotel gr8 location and first class staff...definatly recommmend this hotel and will stay again here...ty mayflower for relaxing stay..... mick and karen from england......

Room Tip: top floor back of hotel ....think we in 618...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were looking for a clean, economically-priced hotel, and this fit the bill. The location was great, as everywhere we went was a 10 minute walk, or a $10 cab ride. The room was indeed clean with a microwave, small refrigerator, plates, glasses, etc. There was a huge walk-in closet, and the bathroom was small, but ok for us. The breakfast was good, enough to get your morning started.The woman at the front desk was soooo nice, the young man-not so much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayflower

Address: 975 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Mayflower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel San Francisco
Mayflower San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mayflower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.