We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & total value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mayflower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mayflower to your Saves list
Hotel Mayflower
975 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location & total value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Loved The Mayflower & can't really fault it. The location is a few blocks from Union Square & Chinatown which is fantastic. The hotel offers FREE car parking if you let them know when you make your reservation. Be careful if you have anything other than a compact as it is tight in there! But, it will save you at least $40 a day so well worth it. The front staff were very friendly & offered help & advice when asked; I was given an excellent running route. I would absolutely recommend it & would stay here again if I was ever to return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    437
    85
    13
    6
See reviews for
223
357
59
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had stayed here 6 years ago with our 2 kids and it really was a great choice back then so decided to do so again. It still was! The room we had was a corner room on the 3rd floor with a full size and a trundle twin bed. The hotel is truly unique in many ways. The beautiful hand-painted murals are very charming, as is the super old elevator. Our room was clean; but the bathroom, though clean was pretty sketch with cracked tiles and a "remove only by owner" sticker still on the toilet (obviously from a remodel, but come on...). Front desk was a mixed bag. Charlie was not too personable, but everyone else was. Our room was always clean and we were left with fresh towels each day. The value (we only paid $145 a night) and location are wonderful. When parking is included (yes, the garage is small, but a standard sized car fits just fine) and breakfast, too (don't complain when it is totally free for this price!!) and you are in the heart of San Fran (just minutes to walk to many locations cable cars, Union Square, and yes, the Tenderloin). We would stay again. Oh yes, the reservation you make will be only via the phone; they don't even take your credit card number to secure it...I did call ahead to confirm and all was fine...pretty sure they write it in a notebook and they will hand write you a receipt.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Think European two or three star hotel. Quaint lobby, old, unique elevators, narrow hallways, small rooms, no AC. This hotel is a great find and value (for San Francisco). Good location near Union Square and public transportation. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Our room had a wet bar with microwave and frig. We paid extra for a view, but I don't think it's worth the extra charge. There's not much to view in the area. I did have one complaint about the continental breakfast. It was adequate, but they kept bringing out the same stale muffins day after day. They did the same with old apples- the only fruit offered. They need to refresh their inventory daily, but we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

really nice hotel, lots of charm, very helpful staff and really clean, good location although its not that far from the tenderlion bad area few blocks but far enough away. they tell you to say clear as well you should, we drove through it on arriving and its not pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

stayed 5 nights here on our second leg of west coast tour...first time in san fran ... was very impressed by friendly welcome and was very helpful with general information about the city..our room top floor good views over city ....very comfortable and quiet room..had all essentials ..if want hair dryer ask reception u get free of charge...no kettle but just boil tea or coffee in microwave no problem....store next door for all your drink needs..beds very comfy and was very quiet at night...all in all excellent hotel gr8 location and first class staff...definatly recommmend this hotel and will stay again here...ty mayflower for relaxing stay..... mick and karen from england......

Room Tip: top floor back of hotel ....think we in 618...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were looking for a clean, economically-priced hotel, and this fit the bill. The location was great, as everywhere we went was a 10 minute walk, or a $10 cab ride. The room was indeed clean with a microwave, small refrigerator, plates, glasses, etc. There was a huge walk-in closet, and the bathroom was small, but ok for us. The breakfast was good, enough to get your morning started.The woman at the front desk was soooo nice, the young man-not so much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here. Ok it's not the Ritz but you'fre not paying for the Ritz either. The hotel is clean, the rooms are large and it has character. We paid $150 per night with the 16% tax. Our room #417 has a kitchen with micro, sink, refirigerator and utensils. The staff was great and even allowed us to keep our car there until 4pm after we had already checked out at 10am to visit Alcatraz. WiFi was a little slow but she gave us an in line connector which helped. The lift was "charming" according to my wife.
The Cons: The garage is in the basement and very steep and narrow. You MUST have side mirrors that fold in. I manage to get a Chryler 200 down the ramp with about an inch to spare on both sides. If you have a large vehicle or close to the ground....forget it.
The breakfast was really bad. Toast, muffins and instant decaf. But frankly we love to eat breakfast out so we didn't eat there at all. See my review for Hollywood cafe,
All in all it was a great hotel for us as we only sleep and shower there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#116 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#84 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,758 reviews
Union Square
Baldwin Hotel
Baldwin Hotel
#80 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#10 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,184 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#16 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayflower

Address: 975 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Mayflower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel San Francisco
Mayflower San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mayflower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.