We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mayflower

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mayflower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Mayflower
975 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The Mayflower was the perfect room w/ plenty of space for me & my BF's 3-night stay. Plenty of nightlife & eateries with blocks of the hotel.
The hotel is VERY CLEAN!! & equipped with all the necessities: microwave, fridge, closet space, plates, cups, sink... Irons upon request.
Our room [205] had a view & was just perfect for us! A short walk to the muni stop on Stockton. Definitely worth the low price, quiet enough to sleep with the windows open.
Will be staying again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    282
    59
    11
    4
See reviews for
147
226
42
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sengkang
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Its clean and have almost everything.

Hester is very helpful and will always give me advise and information I needed.

Location was not very idea I think as I have to walked quite a long walk from the station.
Cable cars are always full and buses are not so frequent.

Breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in May for a few nights and were really pleased with our choice of hotel, selected from reading good reviews on Trip Advisor. It is a quaint and beautiful old place full of character, in a very convenient location for catching the famous cable cars and for walking to Union Square and all its shops and buses. The staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was quite large and very clean and situated on the fifth floor at the back of the hotel, very quiet. Free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast included. Great value for money. We would recommend and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is quaint, clean and easy to navigate. The ladies and gentlemen at the front desk were extremely willing to be helpful. For the price, this hotel cannot be beat! The continental breakfast is a bit lean, but again, for the price, it was very reasonable.

On service: one morning we had to leave by 6:30 AM - the gentleman at the front desk made sure breakfast was open and ready - the coffee already brewed! He took care of getting our cab, too! Sooooo nice!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are a noisier at night. Bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel had some of the best service I have ever had. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They recommended fantastic restaurants and also supplied free wifi and breakfast!
It is an old hotel with lots of character and charm.
Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Mayflower for 4 nights. My friend that lives in SF told me that the area around the hotel "The Tenderloin" can be sketchy after hours but we didn't have any problems walking around. We actually found the location to be a plus since it was located within walking distance to many attractions. They do have free parking but it is limited to very small cars. You have to ask the front desk staff to unlock the garage door every time you want to enter/exit. The entryway is very, very tight. If you have anything larger than a Ford Focus, it won't fit. We had a Focus and it barely squeezed through (it took folding the mirrors in and careful maneuvering for several minutes to get in without bumping anything). If your car fits, the benefit is obvious since parking in SF will set you back $25+ per day. The front desk staff is very nice and accommodating. Housekeeping does a nice job tidying up every day and restocking the room. Make sure to look inside the mirror in the bathroom for extra TP and tissues (we didn't realize this until later). Wireless internet is free with a password the front desk provides but is very spotty and was barely usable for me. Our room had a large walk in closet with an ironing board but no iron and a antique chest/dresser. We also had a mini fridge (with tiny freezer compartment for ice making) and a microwave and kitchen sink. They provide a couple of coffee mugs, a couple wine glasses, and a couple tall glasses. There were also two sets of plates/bowls and two sets of cutlery provided. Free breakfast is served in the early morning and is a definite plus. They had things like toast, nutella, PB&J, butter, muffins, scones, biscuits, cheese slices, cookies, oatmeal, appelsauce, hard boiled eggs, OJ, coffee, tea, and some fruit (apples, etc.). This was a very nice added bonus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Mayflower for 6 nights while in tow for a friends wedding. We LOVED it.

Location: Great. Right in the heart fo Knob Hill, walking distance to almost everything. Well, me and my wife prefer to walk so we can see everything the city has to offer. If you are not a fan of walking then SF might not the city for you (especially if you hate hills), but you can buy a transit pass which allows unlimited rides on cable cars, trams and busses. We did this for one day but you can also purchase a seven day pass. (the one day pass pays for itself with 2 rides on a cable car.)

Room: A little outdated but clean. The best part is it looks like this hotel used to be an apartment complex. It has a kitchenette, which was great for storing wine and snacks. Something that helped to decrease the cost of SF foods. We traveled in May and it was a little cool, which I loved. However, we did have a street view room and I don't know if the hotel has air conditioning. This could be a problem if was hot, with street noise. If you opened the windows and had the ceiling fan on it you got an amazing breeze.

Hotel: Great breakfast, that is included in the price. This probably saved us at least $20 a day, again SF is very expensive. The staf was great, very helpful and prompt with any issues we had (like fresh towels, reserving cabs etc.)

Cost: Great. I don't know where you can get a better deal. We paid $110 per night, and for the heart of downtown it was great.

Room Tip: We had a street room, we liked to have the windows open to help cool it down at night, but it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayflower

Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel San Francisco
Mayflower San Francisco
Address: 975 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Mayflower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mayflower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.