We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Great Place to Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mayflower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mayflower to your Saves list
Hotel Mayflower
975 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it! Great Place to Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My mom and I travelled to San Francisco for the first time on the Labour Day long weekend. We didn't want to have to spend +$250/night on a hotel, so I was thrilled when I came across the Hotel Mayflower. It is a great hotel at a great price! The hotel is old, built in the 1920s, but that just means it has so much character. It's got a great lobby area, and the old style elevators with the gates that pull across. There's a continental breakfast everyday, which has toast, muffins, scones, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, oatmeal, juice, coffee, teas, etc. We were there for 5 days and ate breakfast there everyday without getting bored of it. The rooms are quite spacious, and are all suites, so they have kitchettes which is nice to be able to have drinks and snacks if you like. They've got a little grocery store right next door which is convenient. The staff at the hotel are all quite nice and helpful. It's in a great location! So close to the cable car line, Union Square, good restaurants etc. We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone going to San Fran, and will for sure go back ourselves.

Room Tip: our room was on the backside of the hotel, it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    394
    79
    11
    6
See reviews for
197
316
53
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had read many Trip Advisor reviews before booking this hotel, and I have to say that the good reviews given to this hotel were correct. I stayed in the Golden Gate Bridge Room, which is a queen, premier deluxe room, so can't really attest to a cheaper standard room, but for the price ($125+tax) it was a deal for San Francisco. The room was large and clean, with a great view looking south over the city. That said, I suppose that the view may be the main difference in price compared to a standard room; the higher floor and opposite side of the building from the street probably helped with noise, as I had no problem with garbage trucks or other street noise. The kitchenette was adequate, although not as well stocked as I had hoped. There was a refrigerator and microwave, but there were just two sets of large and small plates, bowls, coffee cups, wine glasses, drinking glasses, forks, spoons, and knives. No bottle or wine opener, so bring or buy your own. The one thing missing was any way to wash the kitchen items after use; neither soap nor sponge were present. Also, there were no tissues or paper towels, so really no way to clean up afterwards. I noticed that and bought my own tissues while shopping, so along with the fact that the housekeeping staff washed the dishes when they cleaned the room it was really not a big deal. Breakfast was free and plentiful: scones, muffins, coffeecake, bread, hardboiled eggs, oatmeal, apples, orange juice, coffee. A colleague who stayed in another (more expensive) hotel did not have breakfast included, so I don't think anybody could complain. I should also mention that I rented a car and used the free parking. As others stated, the entrance is very narrow, so insist on a small car (my rental company kept trying to give me a Jeep or a Mustang convertible...), preferably one with folding mirrors. I was attending a conference at the Moscone Convention Center, and the walk took about 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights last week. We found the hotel on Trip advisor. We were not disappointed and liked the atmosphere. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is well suited and within walking distance of the main sites if one is an enthusiastic walker! The only area we needed public transport for was Haight Asbury. If you are coming from the airport take a shared bus as these are quick and relatively cheap and will get you from door to door. We would use this hotel again. Clean rooms close to town.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I can recommend this hotel to anybody that wants to visit SF for sightseeing and for a conference at Moscone.
The Hotel is cheap (as for SF), most of the staff is very helpful. You have a 24/7 deli just outside the hotel and 2 24h Dinners 2 blocks away.
The rooms are vintage but clean and comfortable.
I walked from the Hotel almost everywhere I wanted to go, you can take a cab but you can get anywhere it 20 mins.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed in The Heart Room for two nights on an anniversary trip and couldn't have been more pleased. To begin, the hotel is very charming with historic properties and luxurious amenities. As a first time visitor to San Francisco, I was impressed by the two story lobby with carved handrails and crown moldings, as well as fresh orchids in the lobby along with three sofas, guides to the city displayed on the coffee tables and 24/7 hotel lobby staff to provide assistance and answer questions. One of the selling points of the hotel for us prior to booking was on-site parking. This turned out to be inconvenient for us as the garage was not wide enough to accomodate our vehicle (a Ford Mustang). The continental breakfast was fantastic, consisting of muffins, breads, scones, cereal, fruit, hard boiled eggs, juice, milk and coffee. There are computers provided for complimentary use by guests, including printing services. The hotel is located within walking distance of Union Square and Chinatown, in close proximity of many restaurants, cafes and bars and right next door to a market selling everything from postcards and wine to steak and produce. The room itself wasn't incredibly spacious, however it had more than enough room for the two of us with fantastic views of the city from two different sides of the building. The room featured a small kitchenette, two closets (yes two, one linen closet by the door and one HUGE walk-in closet for luggage and clothing), and an average sized bathroom. The toiletries provided were of good quality and in the bathroom were super absorbant maroon Ralph Lauren towels. Be forewarned that the hot water is very hot and could cause burns to small children. There was no hair dryer in the room, however the front desk provided this upon request.. I had researched hotels in the area for a few days and could not be more pleased with the service and quality for the price. The Mayflower Hotel offers a fantastic value in a beautiful city full of adventure, romance and charm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here during a business trip and felt it was a very good value for the location. The staff treated us very well, were always cheerful and friendly. The location was pretty good. I could walk to China town, to a great Italian restaurant on Nob Hill (about 4 blks - uphill to get there, downhill coming back), and the cable car had a stop not too far away either. Good pizza place across the street as well! It was difficult to catch a taxi in the morning, though! It was unseasonably warm when I was there and the rooms do not have air conditioning - so they were stuffy. Opened windows at night to get a breeze and then listened to city noise - but it was not awful (we were not on the street side). Rooms were comfortable, a bit dated, fairly roomy. Towels seemed very new and were soft - not hard and think like many older hotels. The pillows could use some updating to be a little more comfy! Hotel had a very European feel to it - loved that about it. Breakfast was nothing fantastic, but it was free and I'm not a big breakfast eater. We rented a car for one overnight and they aren't kidding, it is extremely narrow to get in the parking garage. It's free - but definitely only bring a small car! We were told our car was economy size - but I think it really was mid-size and we had to inch it in with the mirrors tucked in. It was stressful and tricky getting it in and out of there. But, it was free. Overall - had an enjoyable stay and the price was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel may look old and worn-out, but I think they are using this on their advantage. There are a few hotels in SF are that offers free parking. This gem is one of them. Free parking saves you time and money...more money to spend on souvenirs.
They still have the semi-manual accordion-type elevator which gives you a feel of time travel. The rooms make you feel like you're a guest in a friend's house an not really a tourist. I hope this hotel would not go mainstream and maintain their clientle. And one more thing...FREE Breakfast.

Room Tip: If you plan to avail the free parking be sure to call in advance. Free parking is for small vehicles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayflower

Address: 975 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Mayflower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel San Francisco
Mayflower San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mayflower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.