We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food. Not worth the $” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sears Fine Foods

Sears Fine Foods
439 Powell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1503 (Union Square)
(415) 986-1160
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sears Fine Foods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #228 of 4,525 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Diner, Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Union Square
Cross street: Sutter
Riverview, Michigan
2 reviews
“Average food. Not worth the $”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

The food was average at best and service was poor. Had the flag down waiter to get coffee refill. The line was only 10 min long which may reflect the decline in food quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    623
    253
    71
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honomu, Hawaii
1 review
“Very Good Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Sears wasn't packed when we got there. We left the frantic pace of Union Square and were finally able to relax within the softly lit and hushed space of this historic restaurant. They had the meat loaf special on the day we went. This huge portion of meat loaf was wrapped in a crispy slice of bacon and tasted like a succulent sausage full of herbs and spices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Ohio
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Skip the Free Hotel Meals and Eat Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We discovered Sears years ago and we try to eat here on every visit. Swedish pancakes are a must. I had the common oatmeal (good) and asked whether I should go for banana nut bread of Cinnamon Crumb cake for a side. I was told banana bread was store bought and Crumb Cake was made there. Excellent choice. Expect a wait. It's popular. And worth it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The food was great! We enjoyed breakfast so much (try the pancakes) that we ended up going back another night for dinner. They were recommended to us and we were happy we went. Next time we are in San Francisco we will definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

old world charm, good food good service. I went twice first time I had the new york steak (good) and second time the rib steak (excellent). I will go back next time in san fran

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sears Fine Foods also viewed

 
 

Been to Sears Fine Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sears Fine Foods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.